Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I didn't have any yukon potatoes on hand, so substituted 2 medium size yams and a handful of fingerlings, cubed to small pieces to the recipe. It was really good. Went great with Roti. My husband said this recipe could compete with the restaurants. Thanks for a great recipe. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Yum! If you love spicy food like my family does, don't alter the amount of cayenne pepper. It was perfect. My fiance and I are vegans, and we have several vegetarians in our family. I brought this to Christmas dinner as the vegetarian entree and received rave reviews. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this dish for an Indian-themed birthday dinner for my husband. We had 2 vegetarians attending the party and this was a wonderful vegetarian option for our guests. The first time I made it to test it out before the party I left out some of the salt, but then ended up adding it back in the second time because I thought it needed all the recipe called for. Also, I added about half the cayenne because we like it more medium than super hot. Oh, and I didn't have garam masala so I didn't add that, but it tasted great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was excellent, but I only used about a third of the cayenne pepper that it called for and it was still really spicy - so I would cut back on that unless you like your food REALLY spicy! I served it with basmati rice and naan bread. I also made sour cream cucumbers as a side dish and the sour cream from that kind of got on this and was really good; so in the future I will probably serve this with either sour cream or make the sour cream cucumbers again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Spicy, flavorful, and wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly except for using fresh ginger and omitting the garam masala (at the suggestion of previous reviewers and because it smelled and tasted fabulous without it). Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Loved this recipe! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmiecupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
A very good vegetarian curry, especially if your feeding a big (or very hungry!) family. I made a few adaptions, i used half/half natural yoghurt and vegetable stock instead of coconut milk, left out the cinnamon, and added the garam masala at stage two. I will make again, next time with lots of chopped fresh coriander for extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is good. And SPICY! I cut way back on the pepper, but there's still so much other spice that it'll slap you in the face! I added a little extra garlic, some curry powder, and used fingerling potatoes since I couldn't find Yukon gold for some reason. I served it with coconut basmati rice and chai. Thanks for the keeper! I didn't even realize it was vegan. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Holy cow!!! This had a serious spice factor! I am obviously not well accustomed to spicy curries, because this really blew my socks off and I had to down a whole glass of milk. However, everyone loved it (even my meat-n-potatoes parents)! The only thing I didn't add was the garam masala because the store had none. I served it over the Indian Style Basmati Rice from this site and it was yummy. But next time, I'll cut the spices in half and slowly work up to the amount in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I found this dish to be delicious. I didn't have any cardamom on hand, but since there is some in the garam masala, I figured the flavors would still be in the dish. I cut back on the salt and cayenne a little, but other than that I followed the recipe. My picky 9 year old said this was tasty. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States