Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Wow! We absolutely loved this dish! I used only a shy teaspoon of cayenne and that gave it some heat without being overpowering. Also cut back a little on the cinnamon, a lot on the salt (one tablespoon of salt would have made this way too salty, I think) and cut back on the cardamom only because I had none ground and got tired of picking out the seeds for grinding my own. I probably used 1-1/2 tablespoons of minced garlic. The flavors seemed just right before adding the garam masala, so I didn't use any. And because the teenager turns his nose up at a main dish without meat, I chopped up a previously cooked chicken breast and tossed it in to warm up at the end. Still, one chicken breast for five good-sized servings is quite economical and was plenty. If I were making this without the chicken, I might want to add an extra can of garbanzo beans. Or maybe not. It was pretty darn perfect just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great recipe. This was my first time making aloo gobi, and it came out wonderfully and kept well. I didn't have garam masala, but I looked up the ingredients online and it turned out I had all the spices listed except saffron (i.e. cumin, coriander, cardamom, peppercorn, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg) so I just added teaspoons of all of them until it tasted like I wanted it to. I omitted the salt because the canned tomatoes and chick peas both come pre-salted, and I don't like a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Followed the recipe for the most part, but added some almond milk rather than coconut milk to cut the calories. By the end of the simmering period, the sauce had thickened up considerably so I think any dairy or cream-like substance could easily be substituted. I also forgot the cauliflower and used 15 oz of re-hydrated garbanzos. Per many a reviewer, also left out the garam masala and halved the cayenne. Still had a nice kick, but could taste the depth of flavor well. Also, only used a little bit of salt as I am not a fan of really salty tomato-based dishes. Fairly quick, easy and could be made in a larger batch for more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I didn't have any yukon potatoes on hand, so substituted 2 medium size yams and a handful of fingerlings, cubed to small pieces to the recipe. It was really good. Went great with Roti. My husband said this recipe could compete with the restaurants. Thanks for a great recipe. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Yum! If you love spicy food like my family does, don't alter the amount of cayenne pepper. It was perfect. My fiance and I are vegans, and we have several vegetarians in our family. I brought this to Christmas dinner as the vegetarian entree and received rave reviews. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this dish for an Indian-themed birthday dinner for my husband. We had 2 vegetarians attending the party and this was a wonderful vegetarian option for our guests. The first time I made it to test it out before the party I left out some of the salt, but then ended up adding it back in the second time because I thought it needed all the recipe called for. Also, I added about half the cayenne because we like it more medium than super hot. Oh, and I didn't have garam masala so I didn't add that, but it tasted great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was excellent, but I only used about a third of the cayenne pepper that it called for and it was still really spicy - so I would cut back on that unless you like your food REALLY spicy! I served it with basmati rice and naan bread. I also made sour cream cucumbers as a side dish and the sour cream from that kind of got on this and was really good; so in the future I will probably serve this with either sour cream or make the sour cream cucumbers again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Spicy, flavorful, and wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly except for using fresh ginger and omitting the garam masala (at the suggestion of previous reviewers and because it smelled and tasted fabulous without it). Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Loved this recipe! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmiecupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
A very good vegetarian curry, especially if your feeding a big (or very hungry!) family. I made a few adaptions, i used half/half natural yoghurt and vegetable stock instead of coconut milk, left out the cinnamon, and added the garam masala at stage two. I will make again, next time with lots of chopped fresh coriander for extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States