Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Delicious served over jasmine rice. I subbed an extra potato or two in place of the garbanzo beans, and I cooked mine in a slow cooker on high for 4 hours. It still had a faint over-spiced, powdery taste/texture which could be due to the method of cooking not quite having the same effect as a stovetop. Still, it was delicious and my meatatarian husband was a fan. Plus, it filled our house with a wonderful curry aroma that made our mouths water. I will make this again! Edited to add: I put the coconut milk in with everything else and had no issues with separating, so no worries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is quite tasty. I didn't make it exactly as indicated (left out the coconut milk, used water instead) and had planned to use yogurt in addition but it didn't need it. Used half the salt and only a pinch of cayenne and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I'm so happy I found this recipe, I've made it so many times! The spice level is perfect (1 tablespoon cayenne - yes!) as is everything else about the recipe. I wouldn't change it a bit. Everyone I've made it for, including myself, has a hard time eating aloo ghobi anywhere else because this version of it is so good. As a tip, I pick up these spices in bulk from my local middle eastern market, which saves on costs compared to buying from local grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I doubled the recipe but only had one can of diced tomatoes and it still worked well. I personally thought it was too spicy, but the others of my family thought it was just right spice wise. Served it with the Slow Cooker Butter Chicken recipe on this site, and also the Basmatti Rice recipe also from this site. Over all the Indian themed meal was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My first crack at an Indian recipe. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
We thought this was great! We used sweet potatoes and omitted the last 2 T of garam masala as suggested by some reviewers but thought it could have used that extra kick of spice. The sweet potatoes were excellent, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Although it wasn't what I had expected, this version of aloo gobi was quite good. Once past the too hot spice of the full tablespoon of cayenne pepper, all of the flavors come together and make a smooth, enjoyable curry-like dish. The aloo gobi I've had before didn't use coconut milk I don't think, so it was without a sauce - and I knew the coconut milk would make it saucy but the recipe was so highly rated I really wanted to try it. I'll make it again for sure, with a little less cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
HOLY SODIUM BOMB BATMAN, this was yummy, and about an hour after eating I was chugging water. It never occurred to me that a TABLESPOON of salt was a lot for four servings. So, yum, but watch out for the sodium, it comes in at OVER 2000 mg per serving - a double Quarter Pounder with Cheese from McDonalds only has 1280. Does anyone else wonder, upon closer scrutiny, if the salt and cayenne are typos? For me, the second time out I used a little over a teaspoon of salt, and a teaspoon of cayenne and it was spicy, but not incendiary, and I used ground cumin (all of my curries start with toasting seeds and then grinding) which added a great depth. Those who hadn't tried the first round licked their plates, I put salt out, no one reached for it. Don't get me wrong, it's really excellent, but I'm watching the sodium, so always looking for subs. Love the coconut milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
2 adults and 1 child loved it. 10 year old wasn't as thrilled. I cut the cayenne in 1/2, but was told it should be hotter. I think this will be even more awesome tomorrow after the flavors marinate. Thank you! Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States