Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by thamesarino
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I loved this!My family and I enjoyed this a lot! It didn't have the heat I was expecting though, which surprised me with the ingredient list. But for my first time making this particular dish I was very pleased! Thanks for the great recipe! : ) ***update*** made this again and it had much more heat..maybe used old cayenne last time, not sure... but thought I'd mention it... so yummy one of my favs from this site! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This dish was easy to make. Packed with flavour. I didn't even miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
was searching for Aloo Gobi that would taste like our local Indian restaurant's and this is very close. found it a little dry, would like more sauce. my son put in 1 tbls of cinnamon instead of 1 tsp and i had no coconut milk, but it turned out great! even better the next day....thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amjoy373

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Yummy! It does have a bit of a kick (equivilant of say, a 3 star), so I'd suggest backing down on the cayenne a tad if you can't tolerate the heat. This is the first indian dish I haven't bombed thus far.... so I definately count this as an easy meal! Relatively cheap, too. If you already have all of the spices on hand, the rest of the ingredients add up to about $10. ***updated*** I previously forgot to mention that I omit the garam masala (it changes the flavor and I like it better without). Additionally, cutting the cayenne pepper by about half allows one to be able to taste the wonderful flavors instead of mostly just feeling the heat. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Liked this one! Fun to cook and even more fun to eat. We modified it by using far less salt (a dash rather than a tablespoon) as well as a lot less oil. It's slightly too spicy -- I'd turn down the heat the next time. But was definitely well received around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Landa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is a great recipe! My fiancee and I loved it! I didn't deviate very much from what was described. However, I didn't have coriander, so I added a little extra cumin and some caraway seeds. I also only had whole cardamom seeds, so I shelled them and ground them down a little bit before adding to the recipe. This meant that there were little chunks of cardamom floating around - since I really really like cardamom, I was fine with that, but if you don't like it make sure to use ground cardamom as the recipe states. Heat is neat, so I used a lot of cayenne, but as others have mentioned, be careful. No cauliflower on hand, so used some broccoli and some peas (mutter!). It's important to let this recipe simmer for a long time in order to get the right consistency; it should be thick and easily scoopable, not runny at all. When it's simmering, make sure to stir frequently and scrape the bottom of the pan. Otherwise you will end up with pasty or burned food underneath a layer of soup. The only change I would potentially advocate would be adding maybe 1tbsp of honey; we both felt that it could have benefited from a touch of sweetness. Delicious, fairly easy, and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
i replaced coconut milk with plain yogurt and water -- turned out great and lowered the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mythuntold
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I didn't like this at all - way too much cardamom and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great a simple dish. It seemed a bit daunting when i was looking at the recipe but once i got started it flowed together and was a hit. Truly tasted like something from an Indian kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Although it calls for a lot of spices, this recipe is fairly simple to make. It is a spicy dish so be aware it does have a little kick. I will definitely make this dish again the taste was unexpected. Another plus is that its vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States