Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is GOOD. It would be 5 stars, but it was too spicy! I halved the amount of cayenne, and should have reduced it even more. I knew better, but what can I say, I'm just an idiot. I didn't use an entire can of coconut milk either, as I wanted to see if it needed all those extra calories. It didn't; it was plenty creamy and saucy with just half the can. I will definitely make this again, but reduce the cayenne even more. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This may be the most delicious thing I have ever eaten in my life. The spices and their quantities are perfect! My girlfriend and I had it over couscous. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Made exactly. Bit bland for our tastes, and we do not usually eat anything salty, so I'm not sure what happened there. Heat was good, but not our favorite curry out there. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was yum! I'm not really big into Indian food, but was searching for recipes with a lot of turmeric. It's supposed to help prevent alzheimer's, which runs in my family. Anyhow, the only changes I made was to cut the cayenne in half, left out cardamom because I didn't have any, and left out garam masala, because it seemed perfect! It was spicy for me, so I added a dollop of sour cream (like someone else mentioned) and it was SO good over rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was delicious. I substituted cream of coconut mixed with hot water for coconut milk, and canned crushed tomatoes instead of diced. It was definitely pretty hot but everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a good curry dish. I have always liked coconut-based curries, and this is a good way to get more veggies into my meals. Not the all time best curry, but tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
How can potato and cauliflower taste so delicious!!! Made this as part of an Indian dinner last night, for me it was the star attraction. I followed the recipe without making any changes, the only difference was I did not add the Garam Masala. I wanted too, even had it out of the spice cupboard and just simply forgot. All I can say is that I got so excited by the smell that I was trying to get it served too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Wow! We absolutely loved this dish! I used only a shy teaspoon of cayenne and that gave it some heat without being overpowering. Also cut back a little on the cinnamon, a lot on the salt (one tablespoon of salt would have made this way too salty, I think) and cut back on the cardamom only because I had none ground and got tired of picking out the seeds for grinding my own. I probably used 1-1/2 tablespoons of minced garlic. The flavors seemed just right before adding the garam masala, so I didn't use any. And because the teenager turns his nose up at a main dish without meat, I chopped up a previously cooked chicken breast and tossed it in to warm up at the end. Still, one chicken breast for five good-sized servings is quite economical and was plenty. If I were making this without the chicken, I might want to add an extra can of garbanzo beans. Or maybe not. It was pretty darn perfect just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great recipe. This was my first time making aloo gobi, and it came out wonderfully and kept well. I didn't have garam masala, but I looked up the ingredients online and it turned out I had all the spices listed except saffron (i.e. cumin, coriander, cardamom, peppercorn, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg) so I just added teaspoons of all of them until it tasted like I wanted it to. I omitted the salt because the canned tomatoes and chick peas both come pre-salted, and I don't like a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Followed the recipe for the most part, but added some almond milk rather than coconut milk to cut the calories. By the end of the simmering period, the sauce had thickened up considerably so I think any dairy or cream-like substance could easily be substituted. I also forgot the cauliflower and used 15 oz of re-hydrated garbanzos. Per many a reviewer, also left out the garam masala and halved the cayenne. Still had a nice kick, but could taste the depth of flavor well. Also, only used a little bit of salt as I am not a fan of really salty tomato-based dishes. Fairly quick, easy and could be made in a larger batch for more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States