Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Excellent with a ton of flavour! As many others commented, I scaled the cayenne WAY back, used only 1 teaspoon - I can't imagine what a full tablespoon would taste like, pretty sure it would completely overwhelm this recipe! I also used ground cumin as I didn't have any seeds and then only used about two thirds of the can of coconut milk and about one tablespoon of the garam masala at the end (also as other reviewers noted). Very yummy and great for leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I found it odd that this does not call for curry powder so I added 2 TBSP of yellow curry powder. I also cut the cayenne in half and added some diced chicken. loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
i love this, but i have to cut the spices in half (except salt) to make it a family friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was really good! On recommendation of some other reviewers, I also left out the garam masala and it turned out just right. The chickpeas become so creamy! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
loved it. didn't add garam masala b/c didn't have any and it didn't matter: this was awesome. i liked the cayenne kick. next time, i will try what others suggested and use less coconut milk (perhaps try yogurt instead) to see what a less wet consistency is like. thanks for the awesome meal! :) i have a lot left over so i will experiment with freezing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Fantastic and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Sevigny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I read a lot of reviews before making this, so I cut the cayenne in half and skipped the garam masala alotgether, since almost every ingredient in garam masala is already in the recipe. I didn't have cumin seeds, so I used 1/4 tsp ground cumin and I didn't have turmeric so I skipped that, too. We ate it over basmati rice and it was yummy!! Still a little spicy but not overpowering. I considered a dollop of plain yogurt, but it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Great flavour! Very tasty and hard to stop at just one serving. Since it was our first time, I decided to reduce the cayenne pepper to 1 tbsp and I am happy I did. It had just the right amount of heat. The full amount would make this equivalent to a Vindaloo in heat. Next time I will hold back the cauliflower for 10 minutes so that it doesn't crumble quite as much, but this is a definite keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Sooo, I just finished my SECOND bowl. Holy moly do I ever enjoy this! The ONLY reason I couldn't give it a full 5 stars is that I had everything prepped when I realised that I didn't have coconut milk. I ended up using twice the tomatoes with an extra cup of water...and it is still delicious. I will definitely make this again and if happen to be missing the milk again I will be ok with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Hmmm.... This was just "OK" for me. To my surprise, my cauliflower-hating husband liked this quite a bit. For me, this was very one dimensional. The spiciness of the cayenne (which I halved, btw) was all I could taste. This is not at all what I expected, especially given all of the wonderful spices called for. I also didn't find this "wet" at all.... Actually, I had quite the opposite experience. After simmering on low for 45 minutes, my curry was very dry (much like traditional aloo gobi). This had absolutely no bearing on my rating, but I do want to point out that my curry didn't turn out at all as I thought it would. Served over jeera / cumin rice (MEDHALEE) with a side of naan, this was an allright meal. If for nothing else, I at least convinced my hubs that cauliflower isn't SO bad after all. :-) Thanks anyways, Alicia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States