Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I doubled the recipe but only had one can of diced tomatoes and it still worked well. I personally thought it was too spicy, but the others of my family thought it was just right spice wise. Served it with the Slow Cooker Butter Chicken recipe on this site, and also the Basmatti Rice recipe also from this site. Over all the Indian themed meal was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My first crack at an Indian recipe. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
We thought this was great! We used sweet potatoes and omitted the last 2 T of garam masala as suggested by some reviewers but thought it could have used that extra kick of spice. The sweet potatoes were excellent, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Although it wasn't what I had expected, this version of aloo gobi was quite good. Once past the too hot spice of the full tablespoon of cayenne pepper, all of the flavors come together and make a smooth, enjoyable curry-like dish. The aloo gobi I've had before didn't use coconut milk I don't think, so it was without a sauce - and I knew the coconut milk would make it saucy but the recipe was so highly rated I really wanted to try it. I'll make it again for sure, with a little less cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
HOLY SODIUM BOMB BATMAN, this was yummy, and about an hour after eating I was chugging water. It never occurred to me that a TABLESPOON of salt was a lot for four servings. So, yum, but watch out for the sodium, it comes in at OVER 2000 mg per serving - a double Quarter Pounder with Cheese from McDonalds only has 1280. Does anyone else wonder, upon closer scrutiny, if the salt and cayenne are typos? For me, the second time out I used a little over a teaspoon of salt, and a teaspoon of cayenne and it was spicy, but not incendiary, and I used ground cumin (all of my curries start with toasting seeds and then grinding) which added a great depth. Those who hadn't tried the first round licked their plates, I put salt out, no one reached for it. Don't get me wrong, it's really excellent, but I'm watching the sodium, so always looking for subs. Love the coconut milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
2 adults and 1 child loved it. 10 year old wasn't as thrilled. I cut the cayenne in 1/2, but was told it should be hotter. I think this will be even more awesome tomorrow after the flavors marinate. Thank you! Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Sheesh our mouths were burning, next time will half the cayenne! But wonderful authentic flavor. Also I used a coconut, chia almond milk combo milk to cut down the fat and you couldn't tell. Used ginger powder and ground cumin as didn't have those others on hand. Wonderful and thank you for posting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativeglutenfree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
My husband is Indian and I cook a lot of Indian food and I did not like this recipe. The spices are really heavy and not in the right proportions. A Tbs of Tumeric and cayanne is way too much. As is the 2 tbs of Garam Masala at the end. Actually, all the spices are too much except for the cumin and coriander. I do like the idea of a wet coconut based masala and will try that with a more traditional aloo gobi recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Super easy and delish! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States