Alice's Sour Cream Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
thought this was excellent. yummy. did not put in the microwave; rather cooked the chicken in a pan with a little olive oil, at the same time mixed all the sauce ingredients in a bowl. took chicken off the heat JUST before it was done and sliced it then put it back in the pan and poured the sauce over it. let it simmer for a good 1/2 hour - be patient... it WILL thicken. it was not bland at all! you have to let it reduce to concentrate the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
DELICIOUS! I doctored it up, but then I always do. Borrowed some tips from previous reviewers. I threw in some parsley, extra lemon pepper, garlic and 2 cans of mushrooms. Amazing flavor, and I even used fat-free sour cream. Tossed it over bowtie pasta and steamed zucchini and dinner was smashing! Thanks to the submitter and the reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Very good! It is definitely like chicken stroganoff, as one reviewer suggested, and SO EASY! I've made this recipe 2x - 1st exactly as stated in the recipe, and it was wonderful - it cooks so quickly in the microwave that the chicken stayed nice and moist, and it made a thick, rich sauce! The 2nd time I cooked this on the stovetop & made a few changes, just to mix it up a little bit. I quickly browned the breasts over hi heat 1st, then poured in *ONE QUARTER CUP* of chicken broth & stirred in the wine, parmesan, & fat free sour cream, & a little extra lemon pepper, and reduced heat to a simmer. I left the breasts whole so they would stay nice & moist, and simmered the entire mixture for about 30 mins. I cannot understand why some reviewers stated that the sauce did not thicken - I actually had to add a splash more wine to mine because the sauce was a little too thick. THe only thing I can think of is that they used ALL of the reserved chicken broth, INSTEAD of just 1/4 cup as the ingredient list specifies?? I mean, if you do the math...it's 14 oz. of sr crm and grated cheese, with less than 5 oz. of liquid = a fairly thick sauce. Thanks, Alice, for this good & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This is a good recipe. I actually made this on the stovetop as opposed to the microwave. I simmered the chicken in water w/ bouillon for some added flavor, then threw in some seasoned salt, pepper and paprika with the sour cream and parmesan. I also threw in some peas for color and simmered for about another five minutes. I totally forgot the white wine and it was still really tasty! I served this over rice. This is good for a super fast, super easy, tasty chicken dish. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes. Made it for company last week and had to give them the recipe! DO not use the microwave though. I cook the chicken in a skillet or george forman and simmer the sauce on the stovetop. I add whatever veggies are on hand and it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
This was average at best. Very little flavor and the sauce was too thin. I baked mine, covered, at 350 for 30 min. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was very easy and very good, but I did not cook this dish in the microwave. Instead, I cooked the chicken in a skillet and browned it. I deglazed the pan with the wine, and then added the remaining sauce ingredients and simmered it for about 20 minutes. I did add 2 cloves of pressed garlic to the sauce to give it extra flavor. I served it over rice, and my family enjoyed it. I think that next time, however, I will make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe was great. I did take some suggestions as to add mushrooms and garlic, I also added some onion. Another suggestion was to cook it in the oven at 350 which I did. I would definately try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I am not into microwave cooking, but this came out very well. I served it over rice but think I would prefer egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This was a good recipe, but with some additions. I added quite a bit of spice - oregano, garlic, cayenne. With those spices, it was really good over egg noodles, and I will make it again. It probably would be pretty bland without more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States