Alice's Sour Cream Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
thought this was excellent. yummy. did not put in the microwave; rather cooked the chicken in a pan with a little olive oil, at the same time mixed all the sauce ingredients in a bowl. took chicken off the heat JUST before it was done and sliced it then put it back in the pan and poured the sauce over it. let it simmer for a good 1/2 hour - be patient... it WILL thicken. it was not bland at all! you have to let it reduce to concentrate the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
DELICIOUS! I doctored it up, but then I always do. Borrowed some tips from previous reviewers. I threw in some parsley, extra lemon pepper, garlic and 2 cans of mushrooms. Amazing flavor, and I even used fat-free sour cream. Tossed it over bowtie pasta and steamed zucchini and dinner was smashing! Thanks to the submitter and the reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Very good! It is definitely like chicken stroganoff, as one reviewer suggested, and SO EASY! I've made this recipe 2x - 1st exactly as stated in the recipe, and it was wonderful - it cooks so quickly in the microwave that the chicken stayed nice and moist, and it made a thick, rich sauce! The 2nd time I cooked this on the stovetop & made a few changes, just to mix it up a little bit. I quickly browned the breasts over hi heat 1st, then poured in *ONE QUARTER CUP* of chicken broth & stirred in the wine, parmesan, & fat free sour cream, & a little extra lemon pepper, and reduced heat to a simmer. I left the breasts whole so they would stay nice & moist, and simmered the entire mixture for about 30 mins. I cannot understand why some reviewers stated that the sauce did not thicken - I actually had to add a splash more wine to mine because the sauce was a little too thick. THe only thing I can think of is that they used ALL of the reserved chicken broth, INSTEAD of just 1/4 cup as the ingredient list specifies?? I mean, if you do the math...it's 14 oz. of sr crm and grated cheese, with less than 5 oz. of liquid = a fairly thick sauce. Thanks, Alice, for this good & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This is a good recipe. I actually made this on the stovetop as opposed to the microwave. I simmered the chicken in water w/ bouillon for some added flavor, then threw in some seasoned salt, pepper and paprika with the sour cream and parmesan. I also threw in some peas for color and simmered for about another five minutes. I totally forgot the white wine and it was still really tasty! I served this over rice. This is good for a super fast, super easy, tasty chicken dish. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes. Made it for company last week and had to give them the recipe! DO not use the microwave though. I cook the chicken in a skillet or george forman and simmer the sauce on the stovetop. I add whatever veggies are on hand and it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
This was average at best. Very little flavor and the sauce was too thin. I baked mine, covered, at 350 for 30 min. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was very easy and very good, but I did not cook this dish in the microwave. Instead, I cooked the chicken in a skillet and browned it. I deglazed the pan with the wine, and then added the remaining sauce ingredients and simmered it for about 20 minutes. I did add 2 cloves of pressed garlic to the sauce to give it extra flavor. I served it over rice, and my family enjoyed it. I think that next time, however, I will make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe was great. I did take some suggestions as to add mushrooms and garlic, I also added some onion. Another suggestion was to cook it in the oven at 350 which I did. I would definately try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I am not into microwave cooking, but this came out very well. I served it over rice but think I would prefer egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This was a good recipe, but with some additions. I added quite a bit of spice - oregano, garlic, cayenne. With those spices, it was really good over egg noodles, and I will make it again. It probably would be pretty bland without more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States