Alice's Sour Cream Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
thought this was excellent. yummy. did not put in the microwave; rather cooked the chicken in a pan with a little olive oil, at the same time mixed all the sauce ingredients in a bowl. took chicken off the heat JUST before it was done and sliced it then put it back in the pan and poured the sauce over it. let it simmer for a good 1/2 hour - be patient... it WILL thicken. it was not bland at all! you have to let it reduce to concentrate the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I did this on top of the stove and it was easy but needed something. I added some cream of chicken with herbs soup which also helped thicken it, plus peas, and served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes. Made it for company last week and had to give them the recipe! DO not use the microwave though. I cook the chicken in a skillet or george forman and simmer the sauce on the stovetop. I add whatever veggies are on hand and it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Very good! It is definitely like chicken stroganoff, as one reviewer suggested, and SO EASY! I've made this recipe 2x - 1st exactly as stated in the recipe, and it was wonderful - it cooks so quickly in the microwave that the chicken stayed nice and moist, and it made a thick, rich sauce! The 2nd time I cooked this on the stovetop & made a few changes, just to mix it up a little bit. I quickly browned the breasts over hi heat 1st, then poured in *ONE QUARTER CUP* of chicken broth & stirred in the wine, parmesan, & fat free sour cream, & a little extra lemon pepper, and reduced heat to a simmer. I left the breasts whole so they would stay nice & moist, and simmered the entire mixture for about 30 mins. I cannot understand why some reviewers stated that the sauce did not thicken - I actually had to add a splash more wine to mine because the sauce was a little too thick. THe only thing I can think of is that they used ALL of the reserved chicken broth, INSTEAD of just 1/4 cup as the ingredient list specifies?? I mean, if you do the math...it's 14 oz. of sr crm and grated cheese, with less than 5 oz. of liquid = a fairly thick sauce. Thanks, Alice, for this good & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I don't really like cooking with the microwave for some reason, so I just put the chicken in the pan, poured the sauce over, & baked at 350 for 40 minutes. The sauce did separate- I just plucked out the pieces of chicken & served 'em up. The whole family ate it- even my picky 6 year old. So... I'll try to add some thickener next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I ended up browning my chicken in olive oil and garlic. I mixed all ingredients and added Sun-Dried tomato seasoning from Trader Joes and a minute splash of Stevia. I baked at 350 degrees (uncovered) for one hour and served with salad. The Sauce thickened and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
funy texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
UPDATE: The leftovers were terrible. I have decided not to make this again and to reduce my rating to one star. Sorry. This was edible, but barely. I may try it again, simply because it has potential, but needs some help. First, it was really DRY. I would double the sauce. I cooked it on the stove top and the sauce thickened no problem. Also, as others have suggested, I did add more lemon pepper and a little white pepper. But it still needs something else. My husband seemed to like it. I served it with vermicelli and broccoli, but it still was just okay. I am not sure what else to do besides doubling the sauce. Maybe add some cream of mushroom/chicken?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I liked this one. My husband thought it was okay but a little bland. I cooked mine on the stove top in both whole and cut up pieces. I omitted the wine and added more broth and parmesan. I served the chicken over linguine and broccoli which was very good. My husband isn't really into pasta, so I gave him broccoli and a baked potato covered with the sour cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy'slearningtocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States