Alice's Sour Cream Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
All my family and friends loved this recipe! I made a few adjustments: My chicken breasts where HUGE, almost 16oz, so I doubled the sauce part of the recipe. I halved the amount of wine, and for my broth in the sauce I used the reserved broth from cooking the chicken. I browned the chicken seasoned with garlic, lemon pepper and fresh squeezed lemon in a cast iron skillet with garlic browned in a little bacon grease and butter. After browning I reduced the heat and simmered in it's own juice. I halved the amount of wine in the sauce, used juiced of 1/2 lemon, and 1 1/2 tsp pepper. I also added 1 cup frozen peas and 8 oz fresh diced mushrooms. I sliced the chicken length wise and served it over fettechini ladling the sauce over top. A small hint, though I did read that the sauce would thicken eventually but, mine did not, maybe because I cooked it separately from the chicken. Instead I took very fine metal strainer (or you could use a sifter) and slowly stirred in about 1 tbs flour, or until desired thickness. I like the sauce a little thick for angel hair, Spaghetti, or fettechini noodles or rice and a little thinner over any tubular noodles. For a low calorie alternative, you can use yogurt instead of sour cream with little to no difference in taste. Another plus I discovered the next day when I reheated it is that it does separate when reheated in the microwave like a lot of milk based cream sauces do. A winner all around and is definitely going into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I'm sorry to have to review this badly, but I did not care for this recipe. I did not care for the taste, and I am a huge fan of sour cream. It just turned out to be a waste of a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicastephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was really good. I made a few changes...added double the parm and only had a blush wine instead of white and it tasted great. My kids weren't overly thrilled with it but my husband and I liked it. So maybe meant for a more adult pallet. I also served it over agg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Very good & easy to make! Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizemjw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
There is no lack of flavor. If you reduce it, it becomes full of flavor. That said, I didn't really enjoy that flavor, but my wife liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I tried this, and I was disappointed, but I am not giving up on it. I will try it again with a few changes. I did everything exactly as the recipe said, but my sauce never thickened. I also felt as though the sauce needed more cheese (and I would use shredded Parmesan, not grated), salt, and more color. I would also add garlic next time. It seemed to be screaming for garlic. As far as the sauce thickening, I am not sure how I will handle that. I might add some flour to the mixture. Anyway, my hubby and I both like the overall flavor of the dish, we just wanted it to be more robust, and we wanted to sauce to be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicLuver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I thought this recipe was great! I don't normally make recipes that call for wine so this was new for me. You most definately could taste the wine. Because of this, my daughter did not like it. I think the next time I will try with less or no wine. But, overall num num. I also did it on the stove because I didn't trust any of my bowls in the microwave for that long. This will most definately make it to my table many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Not sure where I went wrong here, I used FF sour cream as did some other reviewers. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe. Changes were - we pan fried the chicken instead of using microwave, and omitted the parmesan cheese. Was sweet and tangy and delicious - a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner with gnocchi. I did not do it in the microwave. I browned the flattened chicken breasts on the stove with salt, garlic pepper and garlic powder. removed the chicken and put it in the baking dish. Added chicken broth to the pan and deglazed it, added the rest of the ing and heated up. Poured over the chicken and baked at 350 in the oven for 30 mins. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States