Alice's Sour Cream Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
After reading other recipes, I cooked this on the stovetop. I omitted the lemon and the wine, and added more stock. I also cut the breasts into bite sized pieces and added garlic powder. When served over noodles, it was like chicken stroganoff. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Following previous suggestions, I browned the chicken in olive oil and minced garlic and then added quite a bit of garlic to the sauce. Then I baked the chicken in the sauce. Angel hair pasta, broccoli, and garlic bread completed the perfect dinner. It was fantastic! Better than I've had at some expensive restaurants! My husband even liked it and he doesn't like many dishes with sauce over the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Great flavor, though sauce was a little runny, easily fixable though. Very picky 2 year old loved it! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
Very, very good! I, too, made this on top of the stove instead of in the microwave. I just browned whole chicken breasts in some olive oil and then followed the ingredients as stated. Simmered in the sour cream sauce, the chicken came out moist, tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Decided to pour the sauce over four chicken breasts and put it in the oven until cooked thoroughly. Next time I might try the stove top method but I thought the oven way worked very nicely. It coated each breast with the sauce. I planned on serving over rice but ended up just eating the breasts out of the pan. The tartness of the lemon pepper and sour cream complement each other very well. Loved the flavor and ease of preparation. Taste the sauce before you pour -- if it doesn't hit you just right, adjust the flavors a bit more by adding more. I added more parmasan cheese as well as lemon pepper. Otherwise I think it could be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Excellent, excellent, excellent!!! I just love this recipe. My mother and husband thought it was good enough to serve to company. So easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This was a good recipe, but with some additions. I added quite a bit of spice - oregano, garlic, cayenne. With those spices, it was really good over egg noodles, and I will make it again. It probably would be pretty bland without more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I liked it, boyfriend liked it okay. I added garlic, and lemon juice(instead of the lemon pepper), and ground white pepper. I also added flour to thicken up the sauce. I cooked it over a stove top instead of in the microwave. I left the chicken breasts whole as opposed to cutting them into pieces. I'll definately make it again sometime. I really enjoy recipes with wine, and recipes with sour cream, so this one was a good one for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This is a good recipe. I actually made this on the stovetop as opposed to the microwave. I simmered the chicken in water w/ bouillon for some added flavor, then threw in some seasoned salt, pepper and paprika with the sour cream and parmesan. I also threw in some peas for color and simmered for about another five minutes. I totally forgot the white wine and it was still really tasty! I served this over rice. This is good for a super fast, super easy, tasty chicken dish. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
The flavor was good but I couldn't get the sauce to thicken up in the microwave. I was also afraid to over cook the chicken. Wouldn't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States