Alice's Sour Cream Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
thought this was excellent. yummy. did not put in the microwave; rather cooked the chicken in a pan with a little olive oil, at the same time mixed all the sauce ingredients in a bowl. took chicken off the heat JUST before it was done and sliced it then put it back in the pan and poured the sauce over it. let it simmer for a good 1/2 hour - be patient... it WILL thicken. it was not bland at all! you have to let it reduce to concentrate the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I did this on top of the stove and it was easy but needed something. I added some cream of chicken with herbs soup which also helped thicken it, plus peas, and served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes. Made it for company last week and had to give them the recipe! DO not use the microwave though. I cook the chicken in a skillet or george forman and simmer the sauce on the stovetop. I add whatever veggies are on hand and it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Very good! It is definitely like chicken stroganoff, as one reviewer suggested, and SO EASY! I've made this recipe 2x - 1st exactly as stated in the recipe, and it was wonderful - it cooks so quickly in the microwave that the chicken stayed nice and moist, and it made a thick, rich sauce! The 2nd time I cooked this on the stovetop & made a few changes, just to mix it up a little bit. I quickly browned the breasts over hi heat 1st, then poured in *ONE QUARTER CUP* of chicken broth & stirred in the wine, parmesan, & fat free sour cream, & a little extra lemon pepper, and reduced heat to a simmer. I left the breasts whole so they would stay nice & moist, and simmered the entire mixture for about 30 mins. I cannot understand why some reviewers stated that the sauce did not thicken - I actually had to add a splash more wine to mine because the sauce was a little too thick. THe only thing I can think of is that they used ALL of the reserved chicken broth, INSTEAD of just 1/4 cup as the ingredient list specifies?? I mean, if you do the math...it's 14 oz. of sr crm and grated cheese, with less than 5 oz. of liquid = a fairly thick sauce. Thanks, Alice, for this good & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I don't really like cooking with the microwave for some reason, so I just put the chicken in the pan, poured the sauce over, & baked at 350 for 40 minutes. The sauce did separate- I just plucked out the pieces of chicken & served 'em up. The whole family ate it- even my picky 6 year old. So... I'll try to add some thickener next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I ended up browning my chicken in olive oil and garlic. I mixed all ingredients and added Sun-Dried tomato seasoning from Trader Joes and a minute splash of Stevia. I baked at 350 degrees (uncovered) for one hour and served with salad. The Sauce thickened and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
funy texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
UPDATE: The leftovers were terrible. I have decided not to make this again and to reduce my rating to one star. Sorry. This was edible, but barely. I may try it again, simply because it has potential, but needs some help. First, it was really DRY. I would double the sauce. I cooked it on the stove top and the sauce thickened no problem. Also, as others have suggested, I did add more lemon pepper and a little white pepper. But it still needs something else. My husband seemed to like it. I served it with vermicelli and broccoli, but it still was just okay. I am not sure what else to do besides doubling the sauce. Maybe add some cream of mushroom/chicken?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I liked this one. My husband thought it was okay but a little bland. I cooked mine on the stove top in both whole and cut up pieces. I omitted the wine and added more broth and parmesan. I served the chicken over linguine and broccoli which was very good. My husband isn't really into pasta, so I gave him broccoli and a baked potato covered with the sour cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States