Alice's Easy Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I chose to make muffins out of this recipe instead of one big cake. I used "soured" lactose-free milk and I added two teaspoons of dried lemon zest--I made no other changes. I got exactly 16 medium sized muffins out of this recipe. Baked at 350 degrees, they were done at exactly 20 minutes. This quick bread recipe is absolutely wonderful. The muffins looked like something you'd see on the front of a cooking magazine! The muffins turned out moist, perfectly sweetened with the perfect amount of blueberries. My whole family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Thanks for the great recipe. I didn't have 2 cups blueberries so I did 1 cup blueberries and 1 cup strawberries and it was delicious. Would make a great breakfast cake or for entertaining. Definitely recommend the butter and sugar on top because the cake and berries are not sweet, so it is a nice complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy14_1
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Easy - Yes! Made these into muffins. I definitely liked the butter/sugar topping. Needs that bit of sugar. Made a half batch which ended up with 12 muffins. I used 1-1/4 cup blueberrys which were starting to look a little shriveled. Turned out great! Took them out of the oven (350) at 22 minutes as the blueberries were popping! Yum! As the other review mentions, they do not look done - I was waiting for them to brown, but finally decided to get them out before they dried out too much. Will make again. Hubby thought they were "not bad" which is a fair compliment coming from him :) They aren't the worlds best, but definitely worth keeping as I haven't found the "worlds best" yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Added a cup of choc chips and a t of cinnamon. Yummy! My mother, husband, and 3 yr old all LOVED it. My daughter wanted a blueberry Bday cake, so we tried this and it was great. Did NOT taste like a muffin at all. very cake-like. The choc chips helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I thought this tasted good. It kind of reminded me of a mix between a cake and definitely a blueberry muffin. The interior was soft and the outside was more muffin like. I liked the sugar and butter coating. The cake was sweet without being overly sweet tasting. I halved the recipe to try it, and baked it in a 8x8 pan. I didn't think it looked blended enough by hand so I ended up using a mixer and beating it about 2 minutes. Make sure to watch it carefully. The outside and bottom was finished baking well before the top appeared to be so. I thought it tasted better the next day after it all softened also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I made the cake, It is wonderful, my husband will love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
So easy! I was feeling lazy so I just mixed the whole thing (except blueberries and flour) in my stand mixer. No mess - easy cleanup. Tastes great - definitely a must to add the butter and sugar. Will be a great breakfast cake/muffin or after camp snack for the kids with all the fresh blueberries in season over the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was great considering I left out the vanilla by mistake! GOOD GRIEF!!! LOL... that's what happens folks, don't get into a hurry in the kitchen!!! Gonna make this again and WOW, it'll be at least 6 stars with the vanilla :) Serve warm with vanilla ice-cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is an easy, yummy cake that worked out absolutely perfectly. I wanted to make it pareve (non-dairy), so I used coconut milk and coconut oil instead of the milk & butter. Straight coconut milk was a bit too rich, so I'd probably use almond milk next time, but the melted coconut oil was just perfect on top! This seems like it could become a staple around here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Very easy to make with ingredients that are always on hand. I only added 1/2 the sugar topping and it was still sweet with a slightly crunchy top. My six year old says, "That cake is a miracle."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States