Alice Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I am a chicken lover to start with, my husband is not a fan of chicken however and he loved this.I did make a few revisions to it. I did not use worcestershire to marinate though, I used fat free Italian dressing and I allowed it to marinate in the fridge for a few hours. I also did not saute my mushrooms in butter, instead I used a little bit of olive oil. I used turkey bacon in place of regular bacon and I made my own dressing so that it would be a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Burris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Super, super easy recipe! Great with or without the mushrooms. I'll cut both a slice of monterey jack and colby jack cheese from the block cheeses. Very flavorful and if done correctly it shouldn't be dry. If the breasts are really large I'll cut them in half to make them thinner. Great to have leftovers for lunches! Definately have put this in the regular dinner rotation. I typically leave out the bacon just to save on fat and calories. I usually just make honey mustard from one of the recipes from this site. A note on the broiler: don't use the top rack of the oven with the broiler pan, drop it down to the next rack. I also put foil in the bottom of the broiler pan for easy clean up (of at least one part of the pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Mmmm!!! I made this as written, except I cooked the chicken in my grill pan on each side for about 5 minutes. I then put it in a casserole dish, topped it (bacon, then mushrooms, then cheese) and baked in the oven at 350 for about 20-25 minutes. (my broiler is on the fritz, or else I would have used it!) I made the Honey Mustard Dressing II from this site to go with this- it is amazing! I did marinate the chicken for about 4 hours...longer may have been even better. The only reason I rated this 4 stars instead of 5 is the chicken itself is a little bland. It needs something to take it over the top. Next time, I will try it with seasoned salt...or just a pinch of salt and pepper would probably do the trick. Amazing dinner, really something special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I was reading another recipe for chicken and I found a lot of reviewers mentioning this "Alice Chicken" so I decided to read this recipe and I stick with it, and OMG! my husband said that this is the best chicken he ever had. He is the worst person to please, he is a very picky eater, he is a French chef! and he was very please. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
just ok. kinda rich for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runner2008
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Love this recipe. Served with baked potatoes and broccoli and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I didn't think this had the pop to it that I was expecting. The chicken needs a different, more flavorful, marinade. I would also grill it, rather than broil it, if I had to do it again. For all the work it took to make it, it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was really yummy! I used chicken tenders, and drained a jar of mushrooms since that's what I had on hand. I also had Muenster & PepperJack cheese and skipped the dressing altogether. Hubby loved it & asked that I add it to our dinner rotation. I served it with sauted greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNREED

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Wow, this was very good. I did what another reviewer suggested and used the same pan for the mushrooms that I did the bacon in, removed most of the fat first...I only had cheddar cheese, no biggie, and I used the Honey Mustard II recipe from this site (very good!). The end result was really really really good. My husband was over the moon. Thank you! ***edit to add, just a week later, that when I informed my husband that Tuesday after labor day our diet starts again, the first thing he asked was, "can you make that chicken again before we start?" So, our last meal before getting back on the diet wagon will be Alice Chicken, we plan to thoroughly enjoy it =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alice Chicken

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States