Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is a rating on the original recipe, no alterations! It was hard to find the romano at the store, but I did, and I followed the directions exactly. It's sooo goood! It's mild like I like it, and tastes just like professional alfredo sauce. Like from a good restaurant, but less greasy. It has that hint of sweetness and the cheese balance is just fantastic. It's not overpowering and it's easy to appreciate. I've tried other recipes for it and it turns out heavy and greasy and makes me feel kind of gross afterwards, so this is great. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya & Wess

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I love this recipe! Its very easy to make and tastes great! I only made two changes to mine: I did not add extra salt as the cheeses had plenty and I added a dash of oregano. Definitely worth the effort of making a real sauce rather than buying a jar at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This sauce needed a lot of doctoring and it still tasted like it was missing something. I didn't like the gritty texture that the parmesan gave this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiRiFan10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I tried this last night, but sauteed some minced garlic in the butter first, it was rich, and creamy...and yes, let it cool a bit before adding the yolk. it came out as good as any good restaurant sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is delicious! Didn't change a thing. My family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is my "go to" for birthdays and special occasions. I do make a couple of changes. Because of the salt content of the hard cheeses, I use unsalted butter. I saute one clove of minced garlic in half of the butter before adding the rest. Make sure you never bring this to a boil, as the cheese will separate. Temper the egg yolk before adding(mix in about half a cup of the warm sauce, also separate the yolks and leave on the counter at the beginning of prep to let them get to room temp). I add a couple of pinches of nutmeg(instead of just one) because it gives it that "something special" taste. The better quality cheese you use the better your sauce will turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I read the reviews. 1 never, ever add salt to taste to Alfredo Sauce. The cheese already has a lot of salt in it. 2. Always use unsalted butter, and egg yolk in Alfredo? I use 1/8 garlic powder, pinch nutmeg and 1/8 white pepper only. Increase the butter to 1/2 cup and use a wisk, always stirring. 3. When you add the cheese turn off the heat and keep wisking until smooth no lumps. Sauce is thin, add little more cheese. I use 1 cup of freshly grated parmigiano. Maybe that is why I don't use an egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was restaurant quality sauce. Did not have parmesan but used Loccateli Romano. Sooo good. Do not put the meat in the sauce. Add it to the plated noodles and sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bnlucas
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Tonight was my first attempt at making an alfredo sauce so I followed this recipe. I did however make some changes. I added 1/2 cup white wine, sauteed garlic, and chopped basil. At first it was a little too watery, so I added some corn starch and it made for the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bnlucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Not to my liking...although my husband ate it. And it was probably my fault...I didn't use nutmeg cuz I was out. And I used whole milk instead of cream...and I think the milk curdled a little...and my cheese wasn't melting quickly. It was weird. It was shredded and when I put it in, it would just clump up and not melt. I stirred constantly (or so I thought) but it was totally lumpy. I wish I had some cheesecloth to try to strain it, maybe that would have helped. I was just so put on by the little bits in it. Plus it was really salty. Oh, and I should probably mention I'm not a big fan of cheese in general. But I've tried a low fat recipe of alfredo and it was great and I thought I'd indulge myself a little and make the "real" stuff...but alas I will stick with my low fat alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWPRINCESS7284
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States