Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Quick and easy. I used margarine instead of butter and homogenized milk instead of heavy cream. I did not need to use any thickening agents-the consistency was just right. Just toss with fettucine and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2707 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
You would not believe how incredible this sauce is! My husband and I made this sauce (served over fettuccine noodles) for my friend and her husband, as they just had their third child a few days ago and we figured they could use the break from cooking - they went nuts, they loved it so much! Even their two younger sons (3 and 2) loved this dish. It literally tastes IDENTICAL to the sauce that they serve at the Olive Garden. Another good tip is to add a can of drained mushrooms to the sauce - it really tastes great. I'd give this 6 stars if I could - I will NEVER buy alfredo sauce again! The next time I might use milk and a little cornstarch instead of the cream (as one previous reviewer suggested) and perhaps reduced fat margarine to save on fat and calories. Be sure to use fresh shredded parmesan (available in bags in the dairy section), Kraft grated just doesn't do it as well - and the shredded parm melts really well. ENJOY this incredible dish! Thank you, Rebecca! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Very good flavor in this recipe, but I did add a 2nd clove of garlic. If you just stir the cream into the butter and let it simmer, it will seperate. I gently whisk the cream and butter the entire time it's simmering and whisk while adding the cheese (a little at a time) and it doesn't seperate, even after a day in the fridge. The consistency is a little hard to get smooth, but probably because parmesan is a very hard cheese with a granular texture to begin with, and doesn't melt smoothly. I used a parmesan/asiago blend and it was beautifully smooth after lots of whisking. Also, make sure you use unsalted butter - if you use margarine or lightly salted butter, it's way too salty. I used this recipe to make a white chicken lasagna, which was absolutely delicious, and it held up well in the refrigerator to have leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1913 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Holy Moly! My husband loves alfredo, and he freaked out because this was so good. I made a double recipe, added 1.5 pounds of pan seared chicken breast and poured it over tri-color rotini (it was the only pasta in the house). Unbelievable! It was a little thin at first, but thickened as it cooled. I used genuine Parmesan Reggiano and it melted wonderfully smooth--just be sure to add only a handful at a time. Do not boil, or the sauce will separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
541 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I love this recipe and make it for my boyfriend at least once a week! We add an extra quarter cup of fresh Parmesan cheese and a tablespoon of flour...it makes the sauce much less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
480 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Bland & throughly uninspired. My husband was none too pleased, and my children were less than enthused which is a far cry from their usual elation with my Italian cooking. I made this for my family yesterday, and recognized the taste right away as being a recipe I've made before though not from this site (copy cat recipes; the book actually). I added 1/8 tsp ground pepper since the flavor was sadly lacking. While I know that I'm am a tough critic having lived for 3 years in Italy this wasn't even passable to my husband who has only visited there with me. This alfredo is fine for someone with a bland palate, but if it's flavor you crave then move on to a recipe more original and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
440 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I tried this recipe using 2 different types of parmesan cheese, the shredded kind and the finely grated kind (think Kraft green container). The shredded was SOOO much better, though both times I used a bit more cream and a bit less cheese. I used equal amounts and added about a 1/4 cup of cream extra and did about a 1/4 cup less cheese. We served it with grilled chicken (marinade in Itailian dressing)and grilled red peppers. YUM! Thanks for the recipe. Ths was the best alfredo I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I made this recipe for my x-mother and father-in-law last weekend. She is an avid vegetarian but will eat seafoods. I made the alfrado using the Gruyere cheese, then in a separate skillet sauted 4 chopped green onions, 1T crushed garlic, and 2T fresh chopped parsley in 2T olive oil, added 1lb cleaned devained shrimp and 1 can lump crab meat over medium heat until shrimp turned pink then folded into the alfrado sauce and served over linguini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This recipe is exceptional! Bravo to whoever started making this. I also used the gruyere cheese which i think is a plus, it was really creamy. We were big fans of the Olive Garden alfredo until we found this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Good and easy. I added white pepper and more garlic. I also doubled the recipe for one pound of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States