Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Used this for the sauce only, and added it to a baked pasta dish. I created a roux with the oil and the flour first and fried the onion in it, then added the remaining ingredients. I had to use a little more than 2tsp of oil though, so perhaps it wasn't the low fat alternative. We did it this was to get the onion to cook down a bit as my wife doesn't like the taste of onion. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nik and Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I've been looking for a healthier way to make a white sauce and this recipe was PERFECT!!! I love the idea of substituting chicken broth for butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Absolutely amazing! YUM Great taste without the guilt. I made this as suggested: without the onions, increase garlic cloves to 3 -4. Also, added chicken tenders while sautéing garlic in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltorneden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I use peas instead of broccoli. I also highly suggest adding some crumbled bacon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Good stuff....my favorite part was that I had everything on hand. Added Chicken and served with a green salad. Yummy. Did have to end up adding more flour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. After reading all the reviews about it not getting thick quickly, I decided to add one more tablespoon of flour and one tablespoon or cornstarch. I also added red pepper flakes and much more garlic. It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Well I liked my version - lol! I added chicken which I browned first with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Made the sauce with fat free half and half, made a roux with som eoil and the flour in with my onion/garlic mixture before adding the liquids. I added the broccoli in with my pasts (penne) and also some sliced dry packed sun dried tomatoes. Nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. We also made it with peas instead of broccoli because that's all I had.. but I have been wanting to have Alfredo without using cream cheese.. etc. This was yummy. It did take forever to thicken.. shoulda read the reviews before I made it.. but I used some corn starch and a little extra flour and things worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this for my girlfriend and I for each of us to take to work during the week. We both loved it, and it's a money saver too. I used 4 cloves of garlic rather than 1, as some people suggested, and also minced the onion and garlic in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I'm sorry, but I guess I'm in the minority on the reviews for this recipe! Our family thought it was pretty tasteless (the sauce). I found it difficult to thicken and had to add more flour than called for. We wanted more of a substantial meal so I added some pre-cooked (Perdue) chicken. No matter...nothing seemed to help this recipe! I know it's supposed to be light, but there has to be something more to this sauce! I will continue to look for a light(er) version of alfredo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States