Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Well I liked my version - lol! I added chicken which I browned first with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Made the sauce with fat free half and half, made a roux with som eoil and the flour in with my onion/garlic mixture before adding the liquids. I added the broccoli in with my pasts (penne) and also some sliced dry packed sun dried tomatoes. Nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. We also made it with peas instead of broccoli because that's all I had.. but I have been wanting to have Alfredo without using cream cheese.. etc. This was yummy. It did take forever to thicken.. shoulda read the reviews before I made it.. but I used some corn starch and a little extra flour and things worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this for my girlfriend and I for each of us to take to work during the week. We both loved it, and it's a money saver too. I used 4 cloves of garlic rather than 1, as some people suggested, and also minced the onion and garlic in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I'm sorry, but I guess I'm in the minority on the reviews for this recipe! Our family thought it was pretty tasteless (the sauce). I found it difficult to thicken and had to add more flour than called for. We wanted more of a substantial meal so I added some pre-cooked (Perdue) chicken. No matter...nothing seemed to help this recipe! I know it's supposed to be light, but there has to be something more to this sauce! I will continue to look for a light(er) version of alfredo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I brought this to a pasta-bar-pot-luck and it was the first sauce gone. Really good especially with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Easy to make and my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Better than most other recipes and light too. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was really good. I served it over spinach fettucine and added some boneless chicken breasts on top that I oven fried. Very good and I didnt have any issues with my sauce thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
delicious!!! I just went to olive garden and ordered fettuccine alfredo, and oh my God this recipe closely resembles the taste of the alfredo sauce i had at that restaurant! I did what one of the previous reviewers suggested, and mixed a can of evaporated milk and half a cup of skim milk to make up for the two cups of milk in the recipe, and it turned out great!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I made this recipe last night and followed many of the suggestions listed and it came out fabulous. The changes I made were: more garlic, more parmesan cheese, more black pepper and I added a little crushed red pepper flakes. I was also able to make this a two pan meal. One pot for the pasta, and a large skillet for everything else. I completed step one, but added sausage, mushrooms, grape tomatoes and peas. In a small bowl, I mixed well the items in step 2 with a whisk and then slowly added it to the large skillet (on Medium heat). It did thicken up without problem after about 3-5 minutes of cooking. I then added the pasta, more black pepper and more parm. With warm bread and a salad...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States