Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is the only recipe I use when I want an Alfredo sauce! I can't stand Alfredo sauce from a jar (any brand), so I am glad to have found this. I do a couple of things differently than the original recipe. I make this all in one pan (less clean-up). After I add the broth, milk, salt and pepper to the sauteed onion/garlic, I mix the flour with some water in a small dish and then pour that into the saucepan. In my experience, that helps thicken it much better. I also stir in a pinch of nutmeg just before serving. I omit the veggies and serve this pasta dish with salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I haven't tried this yet, but I will. My only question is, if a person making this sauce is lactose intollerent, then why are you using Parmasean cheese? I can't use anything dairy, so I would have to use a soy based cheese product and margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Didn't thicken. Seemed like way too much for the amount of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This might be my first negative review on allrecipes. The chicken stock flavor in this sauce seems to be very strong and pungent and onions in an alfredo sauce is very unusual. I followed recipe exactly as followed to assure proper judgement. I'm sure there are tons better out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I thought this was great. Esp for being a light dish. I accidentally added more Parmesan cheese than I was supposed to... so keep that in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Schweinfest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
did not thicken, finally added a jar of store-bought alfredo, and milk/cornstarch combo. Seasoning was not right either. :-/ Wasn't too bad after all the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I have made this several times. While it is not your true homestyle alfredo, it is very good and has very good flavor...and is simply much much healthier. If your sauce isn't thickening, bump up the heat a little and/or add a little thickening agent (flour or corn starch). It's not a super thick, creamy sauce, so don't stand around waiting for it to get that thick...there is no butter and cream, so you have to sacrifice thickness a little. This is great warmed up as leftovers, also. I suggest giving it a try if you're trying to eat healthier and love pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*T*L*Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Used this for the sauce only, and added it to a baked pasta dish. I created a roux with the oil and the flour first and fried the onion in it, then added the remaining ingredients. I had to use a little more than 2tsp of oil though, so perhaps it wasn't the low fat alternative. We did it this was to get the onion to cook down a bit as my wife doesn't like the taste of onion. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nik and Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I've been looking for a healthier way to make a white sauce and this recipe was PERFECT!!! I love the idea of substituting chicken broth for butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Absolutely amazing! YUM Great taste without the guilt. I made this as suggested: without the onions, increase garlic cloves to 3 -4. Also, added chicken tenders while sautéing garlic in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltorneden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States