Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I have never attempted alfredo sauce except with a seasoning packet before, and I was very happy with the results from this recipe! I enjoyed the fact that I could use milk and didn't have to use cream. I took other reviewers' advice and added more garlic. I didn't use any onion because I was out. And I did make a change in that I used a mixture of butter and oil in making the rheu(sp?), before adding the flour and then the turkey broth and milk. Cooking the broccoli with the Penne pasta was a great shortcut and worked out well. I added some cooked chicken to make it a meal and served it with a salad. Very satisfying! My children, from my 19 month old to my teenager loved it (as well as my hubby)! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is a good base but is better using extra virgin olive oil, fat free condensed milk, and organic orfree-range chicken broth. I use at least three times as much garlic and a little more cheese over the top. You really don't need more thickener if you use more cheese. If you simmer it, it thickens nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
As is, three stars but addition of garlic, extra salt, and more thickener will make it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Tasty recipe. I would use less broccoli next time (husband's suggestion), but other than that, it was filling and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
i was hoping for a good lower fat version of alfredo, but this was pretty bland. I omitted the onion and used 3 cloves of garlic instead, maybe the onion is the key?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I would give this 5 stars bc my husband and 2 yr old loved it....but to get it to 5 I had to make quite a few changes....definitely triple the garlic-replace the veg. oil with butter-double the cheese-add garlic powder and red pepper flakes...as for the cooking method as others mentioned it takes 20-30 min to thicken the sauce on low....higher the temp and if it doesn't get thick add a bit of flour/milk paste to thicken. Overall-very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was so yummy!!! I made it exactly how the recipe was here with no changes and my husband loved it! The only thing I'll do differently next time is double the garlic. We both love garlic and you didn't really get any kind of hint of the flavor here. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very Good! I excluded the Broccoli and next time I will use 12 oz. of pasta or make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very good. Tasty and light recipe. Not creamy. But very good. Loved the taste. :) Turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for! I'm trying to lose weight, but I was really craving some alfredo and this just hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States