Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Enjoyed this very much. Made a few changes. Since I need Gluten Free I used brown rice flour. I used fresh broccoli, and quinoia fettuccine. I also added chicken leftovers. It was awesome, will definately make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is the best low fat alfredo sauce I have yet to make. I should've read the reviews first though - mine did come out a little thin - i tried adding a bit more flour, but didn't want to ruin the great taste. Next time I will read the reviews first to learn how to thicken it - but wow - yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
JEUSHAGIRL's review from 2005 is spot on. I made the sauce as stated and it was pretty bland. I could actually taste the flour, and that on top of the pasta was a bit too much. I used asparagus for the vegetable - and a lot of it! - and added a pinch of red pepper flakes. This certainly wasn't horrible - for what it is (a healthy substitute for alfredo sauce) it's ok. But it needs something else, whether it's butter/butter substitute, more parmesan, more garlic, herbs or maybe even replacing a little of the broth with white wine. It strays a little from the classic alfredo sauce, but I think it would taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I was looking for a healthier way to make one of my favorite dishes but this is just not good. I knew I would have to add seasonings to it but the sauce never thickened to my liking. Even though I did as others suggested. I did like the broccoli and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Port Allen, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was awesome! I did omit the onions, used 1% milk and added more garlic, chicken, parsley, a little more cheese and a extra TBSP of flour. Nice to see a recipe without TONS of butter. Did not feel guilty after I was done eating. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This recipe was amazing - my boyfriend couldn't believe it was light! Instead of the parmesan, I used 4 wedges of Laughing Cow garlic and herb cheese, and it turned out wonderfully. Also, when the initial white sauce is cooking, it's best to bring the sauce to a simmer before you add it to the onion mixture - it thickens up much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I think this is a great alternative if you are looking to lighten up Alfredo and not have so much guilt after eating it. I made this tonight without onions because my 5 year old daughter was eating it. Other than that I was able to get my comfort food fix and not feel bad about it. Thanks for the great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I have been making alfredo like this for a couple years since I saw Rachel Ray do it. Its not quite as rich as traditional but its tasty and a great way to have something I like without all the fat and calories. Ive even started replacing some of the milk in my mac and cheese with broth and its so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
awesome, half the calories and still taste good. I added mushrooms and shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This turned out really good - I added peas and carrots, used 2% milk instead of skim, and added broiled chopped chicken breast - will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States