Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was great! I wanted to make some homemade pasta and I found this to make with it. Watching calories and this was it! I used 1/2 cup white wine and 1/2 cup chicken broth. I also only used about 1 cup 2% milk. I actually made a roux in the pan with the onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is a g-r-e-a-t alfredo recipe! It was light and not too heavy. I omitted the onions and used 2% milk which made it thick quickly...I just worked with the milk I had. I'm saving this one for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I Really enjoyed this recipe. However, I am rating it "as is". I findit misleading when people give recipes 5 stars but make 847574899 changes to it :) I added extra salt, substituted corn starch, omitted the onion and used a different amount of garlic. I also added broccoli and chicken. I highly recommend experimenting with this sauce. It is definitely worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This sauce was surprisingly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Littlefield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
It didn't really have enough sauce and was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatlizzardsdaily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I added more garlic since I am a huge garlic lover. Made it exactly as the recipe stated. Sauce did take a while to thicken but worth it. I also added turkey bacon but next time I will add chicken. Very good light recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I felt the same way as far as the sauce taking too long to thicken, I added chicken to my recipe. And, my family needed to add a bit of salt to it also, just a bit to bland for them. I did like the lightness and included a bit of parsley and Italian seasoning also! I'll probably make it again, but thicken it differently and season it just a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My family loved this! I wasn't actually looking for an Alfredo recipe when I found this one--I was trying to find a recipe that would use up the broccoli I had. I liked this though because it uses ingredients that I tend to have on hand. I wasn't necessarily going for low fat so I used butter in place of oil and 2% milk for added flavor. I blended the flour into the cooked onion/garlic to create a roux as others had suggested and it thickened up just fine. I also used fresh broccoli. My kids said they actually liked this Alfredo better than the one I make with heavy cream! The texture is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious! I didn't follow the recipe to a T-- Just tasted as I went and made adjustments as needed. Didn't have vegetable broth but didn't need it, as the milk was enough liquid and added basil + more garlic for flavor. After it started to thicken I turned off the heat and let it sit for 5 minutes, which helped thicken more. The man LOVED IT--gobbled it up! Perfect with spinach, broccoli and asparagus. Will add white beans next time to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Excellent!!! I'm watching my weight for our upcoming wedding and am having a hard time finding meals to cook that are both low calorie and make my fiance happy. I made this last night with a few modifications and he had no idea that it was a healthier version of what I normally make. Based on some of the recommendations I used a can of 2% evaporated milk and 1/2 cup 1% milk. I also used Ronzoni Garden Delight rotini and a mixture of broccoli, cauliflower and carrots. To spice it up...I added crushed red peppers. I was happy because it was light on the calories and my guy was happy because he couldn't tell that it was a low cal meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States