Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Didn't put the broccoli in. Was soo delicious, can't believe it was light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE1519

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I liked this recipe a lot, but I didn't follow it very closely. I forgot to get onions and garlic at the store, and I had even run out of garlic powder, so I started by reconstituting 1 T. of dried minced onions in the broth and used 1 tsp. of garlic salt in place of both the garlic and the salt. Will try to do it properly next time, LOL. I also found that it didn't thicken the way I wanted, so I added roux (a couple Tbl.). It was still thin, but tasty! I made a double batch and added 1 lb. shrimp, a cubed, steamed zucchini, a can of mushrooms, 1/2 c. chopped spinach (thawed frozen), and 1 c. peas and carrots (thawed frozen). I don't know if that's the way you're supposed to make alfredo or primavera or anything, but it was AWESOME!!! My hubbie NEVER eats leftovers but he was still gobbling this up for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLASHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
this did not have much taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This recipe had no flavor. Seperating the onions and garlic from the liquid base strips the strength and it just tastes like a really, really boring white sauce. I added some left over pesto to make it halfway interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This recipe was good, although a tiny bit bland. I think turning it into a pesto, with basil and pine nuts, might spice it up a bit. After reading a couple reviews of people saying it took to long to get thick. I found that bringing the sauce up to a boil and then reducing the heat helped a lot. I made it with the Garlic Chicken Recipes submitted by Carol and the two recipes taste really good together. I just put the chicken over the pasta and then poured a little sauce on it. Since this recipe is lower in fat and doesn't leave you with that heavy feeling makes this recipe is a keeper! It's also easy to play with. Some suggestions would be to add some pureed red peppers to make a creamy red pepper sauce or less cheese for a garlic cream sauce, or canned tomatoes for a tomato cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This recipe was quite bland - it had no flavour. I am a big fan of using chicken broth in place of some of the fat, and I never eat the true alfredo (way too fattening). I added an extra garlic clove and some oregano to try and spice it up, but it still ended up tasting like a sauce that is made from an envelope. Thats waht I'll next time and save some of the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Very good, and quite easy to make. What makes it even better is that it is lower in fat, so you dont feel as guilty making OR eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HORVATHRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This recipe is a great base for a lite alfredo. I followed others advice and first made a roux, then added the milk and stock, along with parsley, basil, minced garlic, and red pepper flakes. After letting it simmer and thicken I added the cheese and it turned out well. I don't think my boyfriend suspected it was low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I added extra garlic, mushrooms, and fresh grated nutmeg to kick it up a bit after reading some of the reviews. I omitted the broccoli and black pepper. Then I served it over cheese filled tortellini. Mmmmmm Mmmmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I know what the recipe is supposed to accomplish, but it just doesn't do it. When prepared as written, it'll take you forever to get the sauce to thicken and you'll end up losing so much of the sauce that you'll wonder why you bothered. And the sauce is just too bland. I spent as long trying to fix the recipe as I did making it. My basic suggestions are to replace the oil you saute the garlic and onions with "I can't believe it isn't butter". It makes a difference. Secondly, when making the sauce, first add 3 TBL of the butter substitute with the 3 TBL of flour, and heat and whisk it until the butter melts and the flour breaks up. THEN add the milk and the stock, s&p, whisking constantly as you bring the liquid to a boil. By the time it boils, the sauce will have thickened quite well (actually you might need to thin it a bit with more milk and stock) and you'll have made a basic white sauce. Then, add a dash of powdered mustard, red pepper, and garlic (the garlic flavor needs to steep into the mixture a bit better and more "Alfredo" like). I added basic Italian seasonings for fun. And I think I doubled the amount of Parm. cheese. I think most people will be far more pleased with the resulting sauce and it sure is a lot faster to make. Plus, since the sauce you make is a basic white sauce, you can add what you want without messing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States