Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Very good, and quite easy to make. What makes it even better is that it is lower in fat, so you dont feel as guilty making OR eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HORVATHRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This recipe is a great base for a lite alfredo. I followed others advice and first made a roux, then added the milk and stock, along with parsley, basil, minced garlic, and red pepper flakes. After letting it simmer and thicken I added the cheese and it turned out well. I don't think my boyfriend suspected it was low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I added extra garlic, mushrooms, and fresh grated nutmeg to kick it up a bit after reading some of the reviews. I omitted the broccoli and black pepper. Then I served it over cheese filled tortellini. Mmmmmm Mmmmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I know what the recipe is supposed to accomplish, but it just doesn't do it. When prepared as written, it'll take you forever to get the sauce to thicken and you'll end up losing so much of the sauce that you'll wonder why you bothered. And the sauce is just too bland. I spent as long trying to fix the recipe as I did making it. My basic suggestions are to replace the oil you saute the garlic and onions with "I can't believe it isn't butter". It makes a difference. Secondly, when making the sauce, first add 3 TBL of the butter substitute with the 3 TBL of flour, and heat and whisk it until the butter melts and the flour breaks up. THEN add the milk and the stock, s&p, whisking constantly as you bring the liquid to a boil. By the time it boils, the sauce will have thickened quite well (actually you might need to thin it a bit with more milk and stock) and you'll have made a basic white sauce. Then, add a dash of powdered mustard, red pepper, and garlic (the garlic flavor needs to steep into the mixture a bit better and more "Alfredo" like). I added basic Italian seasonings for fun. And I think I doubled the amount of Parm. cheese. I think most people will be far more pleased with the resulting sauce and it sure is a lot faster to make. Plus, since the sauce you make is a basic white sauce, you can add what you want without messing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I was craving the fatty-Alfredo sauce, but dreading the calories and fat content. This recipe is SO LOW FAT, and SO GOOD. I used to think that this sauce was super hard to make, but it took me 20 minutes, and it received so many compliments. Thank you for the idea and the recipe, it was definitly the best and least regrettable Alfredo EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I had been looking for an Alfredo sauce I could make lactose-free, and this was a pretty good option. I used 1 1/3 cup lactaid milk and 1/3 cup of margarine. I also added a couple dashes of Italian seasoning. I didn't have any broccoli, so I used corn instead. The end result was good. Nothing spectacular, but I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I too find this recipe 'as is' to be a bit inferior. The second time I made it, I perfected it. Instead of oil, use butter, and instead of salt, use a cube of chicken bullion. Voile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Nice thick sauce with no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
this was not very good. the sauce didn't taste like anything and was just as thin as the milk it started as , though i cooked it for about 20 minutes. i am buying a jar of sauce next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I thought it was very good and very thick. I halved the recipe and maybe I used too much pasta to not enough sauce, but it made it very thick. It was very good and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States