Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This recipe had no flavor. Seperating the onions and garlic from the liquid base strips the strength and it just tastes like a really, really boring white sauce. I added some left over pesto to make it halfway interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This recipe was good, although a tiny bit bland. I think turning it into a pesto, with basil and pine nuts, might spice it up a bit. After reading a couple reviews of people saying it took to long to get thick. I found that bringing the sauce up to a boil and then reducing the heat helped a lot. I made it with the Garlic Chicken Recipes submitted by Carol and the two recipes taste really good together. I just put the chicken over the pasta and then poured a little sauce on it. Since this recipe is lower in fat and doesn't leave you with that heavy feeling makes this recipe is a keeper! It's also easy to play with. Some suggestions would be to add some pureed red peppers to make a creamy red pepper sauce or less cheese for a garlic cream sauce, or canned tomatoes for a tomato cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This recipe was quite bland - it had no flavour. I am a big fan of using chicken broth in place of some of the fat, and I never eat the true alfredo (way too fattening). I added an extra garlic clove and some oregano to try and spice it up, but it still ended up tasting like a sauce that is made from an envelope. Thats waht I'll next time and save some of the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Very good, and quite easy to make. What makes it even better is that it is lower in fat, so you dont feel as guilty making OR eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HORVATHRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This recipe is a great base for a lite alfredo. I followed others advice and first made a roux, then added the milk and stock, along with parsley, basil, minced garlic, and red pepper flakes. After letting it simmer and thicken I added the cheese and it turned out well. I don't think my boyfriend suspected it was low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I added extra garlic, mushrooms, and fresh grated nutmeg to kick it up a bit after reading some of the reviews. I omitted the broccoli and black pepper. Then I served it over cheese filled tortellini. Mmmmmm Mmmmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I know what the recipe is supposed to accomplish, but it just doesn't do it. When prepared as written, it'll take you forever to get the sauce to thicken and you'll end up losing so much of the sauce that you'll wonder why you bothered. And the sauce is just too bland. I spent as long trying to fix the recipe as I did making it. My basic suggestions are to replace the oil you saute the garlic and onions with "I can't believe it isn't butter". It makes a difference. Secondly, when making the sauce, first add 3 TBL of the butter substitute with the 3 TBL of flour, and heat and whisk it until the butter melts and the flour breaks up. THEN add the milk and the stock, s&p, whisking constantly as you bring the liquid to a boil. By the time it boils, the sauce will have thickened quite well (actually you might need to thin it a bit with more milk and stock) and you'll have made a basic white sauce. Then, add a dash of powdered mustard, red pepper, and garlic (the garlic flavor needs to steep into the mixture a bit better and more "Alfredo" like). I added basic Italian seasonings for fun. And I think I doubled the amount of Parm. cheese. I think most people will be far more pleased with the resulting sauce and it sure is a lot faster to make. Plus, since the sauce you make is a basic white sauce, you can add what you want without messing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I was craving the fatty-Alfredo sauce, but dreading the calories and fat content. This recipe is SO LOW FAT, and SO GOOD. I used to think that this sauce was super hard to make, but it took me 20 minutes, and it received so many compliments. Thank you for the idea and the recipe, it was definitly the best and least regrettable Alfredo EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I had been looking for an Alfredo sauce I could make lactose-free, and this was a pretty good option. I used 1 1/3 cup lactaid milk and 1/3 cup of margarine. I also added a couple dashes of Italian seasoning. I didn't have any broccoli, so I used corn instead. The end result was good. Nothing spectacular, but I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I too find this recipe 'as is' to be a bit inferior. The second time I made it, I perfected it. Instead of oil, use butter, and instead of salt, use a cube of chicken bullion. Voile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States