Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. In general I think alfredo sauce doesn't taste like much more than butter and cream. This wasn't too different. I did make a few changes. I didn't want to use so many pots so first I started the pasta. While that was going I sauted the onion, garlic and oil. When that was limp to golden brown I added the flour. I stirred that until it was all blended then added the liquid. For liquid I used a can of evaporated skim milk, a can of water and a teaspoon of chicken broth base which would be like chicken boullion. I added the pepper and a dash of cayenne pepper too. When that came to a boil I added the cheese. My kids liked it and I thought it was good. I'm not a fussy eater just happy when my kids eat without complaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I only used the sauce from this recipe but it was pretty good. I have made it a couple of times and always have a problem getting it as thick as I wanted but other than that it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Pretty Good. I'll use it again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Yum. You really need ALOT of patience for this. I kinda changed things a tad bit. I completely omitted the first step with the onion,garlic,oil mix. Decided to make a roux with equal parts butter and flour, then the milk and broth. Seasoned with garlic,pepper,very little salt, and a pinch of nutmeg.After stirring for awhile, I ended up adding some cornstarch to help it thicken. Used a mixture of romano and parmesean. We ate this with shrimp and roasted red peppers. Needless to say,it came pretty close too the real thing without all the guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was a decent sauce but it took forever to thicken. I substituted the broccoli for chopped fresh mushrooms and used 2% milk in place of the skim. I also served it over spaghetti instead of fettuccine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I've never been a fan of alfredo sauce, and so this light (flavour and calorie) version was perfect. i did add some extra seasoning, paprika/nutmeg/cayenne as others suggested, which really helped the flavour. And it did use a lot of pots and dishes..not my favourite, but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Unfortunately, I just didn't like this recipe. Took too much time for a below average sauce. The texture was gluey, and the flavor was pretty bland, even though I added extra garlic. Not really comparable to Alfredo sauce. Plus, it used 3 pots! Just not worth it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Great! I love alfredo but not that it's fattening. I found this sauce to be a little different from alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I liked this and am glad to have a light alfredo recipe. I added some chicken and summer squash to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Quick & easy recipe. I would double the salt and add additional spices/herbs to give it more taste. Overall it was good. Next time I will add more seasonings and possibly some mushrooms and I would be able to give it 5 stars! Will be using again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States