Alfredo Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Even after adding extra parm as suggested by other reviewers, it was still very bland. It also took forever to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was DELICIOUS!!!! I didn't add the brocoli(my kids and boyfriend doesn't like it) I did add chicken, and i doubled the recipe and used 2 cups of parmesean cheese. It was awesome!!!! And this was the first time I made homemade alfredo sauce, No more buying it in the stores for me......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Wow. I was looking for a quick recipe and feel like I hit the jackpot. Like others, I used 2% milk as I didn't have skim. I squeezed some more garlic into the milk/broth mixture and probably used twice the parm. Browned chicken with garlic, onion, parsley, rosemary and thyme. Added in some sun dried tomatoes. Removed the chicken from the skillet. Added the broth to the skillet to thicken, which it did quite nicely. Added the chicken back and used penne. Reminded us of a local restaurant favorite Penne Al Pollo. Try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I found that combining the first two steps in this recipe, so as to make a "rue-like" sauce, it cut down a lot on the thickening time, and well as lessened the chance for lumps in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I was really unimpressed with this dish and so was my husband. Obviously I wasn't expecting it to taste like regular alfredo but we didn't care for it! I tried adding things to give it more flavor such as pancetta & asparagus but nothing could save this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good, considering it is light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This wasn't what I expected. I found it to be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was good but I had to do things a bit differently. I attempted to make the sauce twice. The first time the sauce never thickened. It was seriously taking way toooooooo long. The second time I just added the flour and some of the broth to the onion mixture to make it thicken. Then I added the rest of the broth and slowly added in the milk allowing it to thicken even more, then adding the rest of the milk. The only thing I did not like about this recipe was the texture. While my husband loved the parmasean cheese texture, I found it to be a bit overwhelming and almost unappetizing. I think next time I will not put as much cheese in the sauce. I needed to add a lot of pepper and salt, a lot more than the recipe called for to give this dish some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Sholl Spatazza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I used the sauce portion of this recipe to build a chicken alfredo pizza. I used fat free half & half instead of skim milk, fresh sliced mushrooms, green peppers and purple onions. Turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Hmm... well, this was good but not what I expected. Perhaps I did something wrong. My sauce as WAY too watery and it ended up being more like a noodle soup. Also, the flavor was a little bland. But, I paired it with garlic bread and despite everything it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States