Alfajores Argentinean Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This alfajores taste great. The only problem that I had is that it was to much of the dry ingredients so my dough was like sand so I add some milk to be able to roll and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by claudia
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
These taste just like my great-(Argentinian) aunt's! I omitted the rum, only had I Can't Believe It's Not Butter (no judging please), used the juice from a small lemon & not much zest and let a little of the egg whites sneak through (worried about the dough being too dry). The dough was perfection, so easy to work with! I didn't quite get 3 dozen but my cutter is slightly larger than I like (2"or smaller should work great). These went fast. Didn't have coconut so can't wait to make them again with the coconut. A definite keeper! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Fallowed the recipe, just a few adjustments to make recipe more personal. I added rum instead of vanilla rum, and lemon juice instead of lemon extract. Perfect texture, delicate, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Tthe dough was too dry to roll out, and had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Slala2112
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I agree with other reviews it is a very crumbly dough so I added some extra butter to it I took my extra dough and smashed it into another ball and put it back in the fridge to re chill before working that into cookies the colder the dough the easier to work with and roll out all and all these were yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Thank you for posting this recipe. I'm from Uruguay and mom used to make these all the time. I had lost the recipe and mom has dementia so I never thought I'd find it. I love the memories of making these with my mom and sharing those memories with my girls. Thank you so much!!!!! When boiling the sweetened milk in the can. Do you have to keep the can covered with water at all times? Can't tbe. An explode? Very nervous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great recipe. Followed advice of adding additional 1/4 cup butter and extra egg yolk--dough was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made these for my sons birthday party and they were a hit! The dough is tough to work with but you just need to press it down as you roll it out. The cookie would split very easy when I went to fill it, so I just started using a butter knife to spread it gently onto the cookie, out to the very edges, than put the other cookie on top. Than I would push gently to get the dulce de leche to come out of the sides. I found I needed about a tablespoon for each cookie. Than rolled them in the coconut. I used sweetened and it was great. I stored them in an airtight container and the next day the were delicious! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I really like the flavour and the texture of these. From "Gumby's" review I used the suggested extra yolk and 1/4 cup butter. But the most helpful review was from "Myrhagonzalez" . She said to be gentle with the dough and I kept reminding myself of that as I rolled out the dough and it really did help. My only complaint it that I REALLY want them to look like the first picture. I do a lot of "fussy" work on cookies and I am willing to put in the extra time, but the dulce de Leche was just too runny. Any suggestions anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
With a few modifications, this is really a great recipe. My Argentine husband loves them and I've made them 4 times now, adjusting to my perfection. I use 2 1/2 c. Flour and 1 2/3 c. Corn starch (just switched the amount from the original recipe). And yes, that is CUPS of corn starch. Alfajores are not meant to be too cakey and should be kind of dense. I also used 4 whole eggs instead of 3 egg yolks, this may change depending on the egg size you use. If the dough isn't holding together when pressed, add egg or your cookies will be a crumbly mess coming out of the oven. For the dulce de leche, which I can't find near me, I buy sweetened condensed milk 14 oz and make it in the microwave. Just repeat 30second heating and stirring, the milk will brown and stiffen up, go by texture for when to stop, it should be workable not runny, and you'll want to make the dulce de leche just before spreading it, because it will continue to stiffen a little. Be sure to buy two cans of milk if it's your first time, I went by color on my first batch , overcooked it and ended up with a bowl of hard caramel that took two days to soak out! How you do the vanilla/vanilla rum is not too important, I use amaretto in place of vanilla rum and like the flavor. Same for the lemon, I don't like the strong flavor of lemon extract but they should taste a little lemony, I use lemon juice instead. After sandwiching them, I cover them in chocolate or powdered sugar like Havanas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States