Alfajores Argentinean Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Tthe dough was too dry to roll out, and had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Slala2112
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I agree with other reviews it is a very crumbly dough so I added some extra butter to it I took my extra dough and smashed it into another ball and put it back in the fridge to re chill before working that into cookies the colder the dough the easier to work with and roll out all and all these were yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Thank you for posting this recipe. I'm from Uruguay and mom used to make these all the time. I had lost the recipe and mom has dementia so I never thought I'd find it. I love the memories of making these with my mom and sharing those memories with my girls. Thank you so much!!!!! When boiling the sweetened milk in the can. Do you have to keep the can covered with water at all times? Can't tbe. An explode? Very nervous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great recipe. Followed advice of adding additional 1/4 cup butter and extra egg yolk--dough was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made these for my sons birthday party and they were a hit! The dough is tough to work with but you just need to press it down as you roll it out. The cookie would split very easy when I went to fill it, so I just started using a butter knife to spread it gently onto the cookie, out to the very edges, than put the other cookie on top. Than I would push gently to get the dulce de leche to come out of the sides. I found I needed about a tablespoon for each cookie. Than rolled them in the coconut. I used sweetened and it was great. I stored them in an airtight container and the next day the were delicious! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I really like the flavour and the texture of these. From "Gumby's" review I used the suggested extra yolk and 1/4 cup butter. But the most helpful review was from "Myrhagonzalez" . She said to be gentle with the dough and I kept reminding myself of that as I rolled out the dough and it really did help. My only complaint it that I REALLY want them to look like the first picture. I do a lot of "fussy" work on cookies and I am willing to put in the extra time, but the dulce de Leche was just too runny. Any suggestions anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
With a few modifications, this is really a great recipe. My Argentine husband loves them and I've made them 4 times now, adjusting to my perfection. I use 2 1/2 c. Flour and 1 2/3 c. Corn starch (just switched the amount from the original recipe). And yes, that is CUPS of corn starch. Alfajores are not meant to be too cakey and should be kind of dense. I also used 4 whole eggs instead of 3 egg yolks, this may change depending on the egg size you use. If the dough isn't holding together when pressed, add egg or your cookies will be a crumbly mess coming out of the oven. For the dulce de leche, which I can't find near me, I buy sweetened condensed milk 14 oz and make it in the microwave. Just repeat 30second heating and stirring, the milk will brown and stiffen up, go by texture for when to stop, it should be workable not runny, and you'll want to make the dulce de leche just before spreading it, because it will continue to stiffen a little. Be sure to buy two cans of milk if it's your first time, I went by color on my first batch , overcooked it and ended up with a bowl of hard caramel that took two days to soak out! How you do the vanilla/vanilla rum is not too important, I use amaretto in place of vanilla rum and like the flavor. Same for the lemon, I don't like the strong flavor of lemon extract but they should taste a little lemony, I use lemon juice instead. After sandwiching them, I cover them in chocolate or powdered sugar like Havanas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I had to add and extra 1/4 cup butter and an additional egg yolk to make the dough workable. The cookie part is ok but next time I think I will replace it with shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I loved it the only thing is that I added 1/2cup more of butter and 1 more egg but they are really grate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEJANDRA CASTILLO

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
The dough is very crumbly as others noted. I managed to make cookies out of half of the dough but it was very slow so I decided to add the egg whites to the rest of the dough but after baking these did not taste as good as the ones without the egg whites. I used the tip about boiling a can of evaporated milk for 2 hours for the dulce de leche since I couldn't find it. It worked pretty well but I would probably boil it for 3 hours so it would be thicker. Also, I made the cookie sandwiches as suggested but then started using 1 cookie topped with the dulce de leche and coconut, which tasted alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States