Alfajores Argentinean Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very good! The best dulce de leche is "Conaprole" brand. You can find this in a argentinean bakery or uruguayan bakery. This tastes just like my mother's alfajores....She's, of course, from Argentina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillycooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paula
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I lost the recipe I had for alfajores and these are exaclty the same alfajores I used to eat in Argentina. Thank you for the recipe! I omitted the coconut because I didn't have any in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
these are so good! I found them very easy to make and yummy to eat. A new favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These cookies were amazing. I used 1 egg and 2 yolks, white rum and I needed just 1/2 can dulce de leche for my cookies. The taste was fantastic, they look festive too (I sprinkled with confectioners` sugar) and I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I am Bolivian so we make our own version of alfafores. I followed this recipe exactly except for the rum. Made it for a preschool/culture day. The kids gobbled it. My family loved it. Doubled the recipe. Only lasted a day. Only downside is that they took forever (a couple hours)! Will try rolling/cutting on parchment paper next time and cooking it right on there so I don't have to transfer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this with a friend for a Spanish class project. They were really yummy! We added a fourth egg and the dough was fairly easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
My daughter and I made these for a Spanish project she had to do for Argentina. They turned out great and melted in your mouth! We used 3 whole eggs, instead of just the yolks, and the dough was easy to work with and we had no problems with it being crumbly or sandy. Instead of rolling them in coconut, we covered with powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Just made these for our friends who are from Argentina...they said they taste just like home! Excellent recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gumby
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good recipe, loved them, just like I used to get in Argentinean bakery. I had the same problem as a previous reviewer that they would crumble like sand when I would try to get them on the cookie sheet to bake. I added 1/4 cup butter and 2 more egg yokes and it was perfect (I used Large eggs, maybe with Jumbo, the 3 the recipe would have called for would be fine). I also followed other reviewers suggestions instead of using all lemon I did 1/2 of the lemon extract and zest and then the other 1/2 orange extract and zest. I had no vanilla rum, so I just mixed 1/2 rum and 1/2 vanilla. I used sweetened coconut, I think it tastes better. When I take something to parties, I like taking something different, usually something that I grew up eating, this time it was the alfajores and they were a hit! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was very tasty, but I dont know if its worth the effort. I added an extra egg yolk as suggested by other reviewers and it was still quite crumbly. Because it was so crumbly, and because the Dulce de leche was so sticky, it was a bit difficult to put together. It was also difficult to roll because of the crumblyness. In all, 5 stars for taste, but I probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States