Alfajores Argentinean Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
With a few modifications, this is really a great recipe. My Argentine husband loves them and I've made them 4 times now, adjusting to my perfection. I use 2 1/2 c. Flour and 1 2/3 c. Corn starch (just switched the amount from the original recipe). And yes, that is CUPS of corn starch. Alfajores are not meant to be too cakey and should be kind of dense. I also used 4 whole eggs instead of 3 egg yolks, this may change depending on the egg size you use. If the dough isn't holding together when pressed, add egg or your cookies will be a crumbly mess coming out of the oven. For the dulce de leche, which I can't find near me, I buy sweetened condensed milk 14 oz and make it in the microwave. Just repeat 30second heating and stirring, the milk will brown and stiffen up, go by texture for when to stop, it should be workable not runny, and you'll want to make the dulce de leche just before spreading it, because it will continue to stiffen a little. Be sure to buy two cans of milk if it's your first time, I went by color on my first batch , overcooked it and ended up with a bowl of hard caramel that took two days to soak out! How you do the vanilla/vanilla rum is not too important, I use amaretto in place of vanilla rum and like the flavor. Same for the lemon, I don't like the strong flavor of lemon extract but they should taste a little lemony, I use lemon juice instead. After sandwiching them, I cover them in chocolate or powdered sugar like Havanas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I had to add and extra 1/4 cup butter and an additional egg yolk to make the dough workable. The cookie part is ok but next time I think I will replace it with shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I loved it the only thing is that I added 1/2cup more of butter and 1 more egg but they are really grate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEJANDRA CASTILLO

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
The dough is very crumbly as others noted. I managed to make cookies out of half of the dough but it was very slow so I decided to add the egg whites to the rest of the dough but after baking these did not taste as good as the ones without the egg whites. I used the tip about boiling a can of evaporated milk for 2 hours for the dulce de leche since I couldn't find it. It worked pretty well but I would probably boil it for 3 hours so it would be thicker. Also, I made the cookie sandwiches as suggested but then started using 1 cookie topped with the dulce de leche and coconut, which tasted alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
this recipe is good the only thing is to make it easier ,my recipe is almost the same just the vanilla rum is not need instead 1/2 teaspoon vanilla rum and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla ,just 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and the lemon extract and zest no , just 1 lemon medium size only the skin grated is perfect for the amount in this recipe . Now for those people that are saying that is to crumbly it suppose to be like that just treat the dough gently and the dulce the leche is suppose to be at room temperature and again use soft touch not rough to put the dulce the leche on the cookies I know when my husband makes they break but he says ,when you do it they don't break ,then I say is because I do it with care softly that's all , by the way the 3 yolks eggs is perfect I always make them like that I am Argentinian and everybody love my alfajores they say they are the best .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Did not like these at all. Something about the texture..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
My daughter and I made these for a Spanish project she had to do for Argentina. They turned out great and melted in your mouth! We used 3 whole eggs, instead of just the yolks, and the dough was easy to work with and we had no problems with it being crumbly or sandy. Instead of rolling them in coconut, we covered with powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was very tasty, but I dont know if its worth the effort. I added an extra egg yolk as suggested by other reviewers and it was still quite crumbly. Because it was so crumbly, and because the Dulce de leche was so sticky, it was a bit difficult to put together. It was also difficult to roll because of the crumblyness. In all, 5 stars for taste, but I probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this with a friend for a Spanish class project. They were really yummy! We added a fourth egg and the dough was fairly easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Hi Chris, I actually had a question about this recipe - is it really 2 1/2 CUPS of cornstarch? Or is that supposed to be teaspoons? Just checking as I really want to make these cookies! Thanks. Val
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States