Alex's Raw Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Awesome recipe, Alex! I just happened to have a banana and an avacado that needed to get used so I whipped this up and yum! Subbed honey for the agave and added a little vanilla but that's it. I will be making this again for sure. Have been making this about twice a week and have found that adding a tablespoon or 2 of peanut butter makes it like a PB cup pudding. Yum! *******UPDATE***** I added a little extra soy milk and ran it through my ice cream machine with great results. Kind of like a Frosty but nicer. Also makes killer pudding pops. Sometimes I add granola to the pudding for breakfast, too. I love this recipe. *new update* Didn't have a banana so I used just the avocado, honey, some nestle's quick (it's what I had), and milk. Better than anything out of a plastic cup. Yum. Next time I'm adding some malt. Thanks, Alex. This is one of the best recipes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Thank you for posting this! I love it! ...and I can justify it as a yummy snack since it's so nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
this recipe was amazing! such a tasty and healthy treat. i used unsweetened almond milk instead of soy milk, honey instead of agave nectar, 2 tablespoons of shredded coconut, and added 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was excellent! It was slightly thinner than expected, but my friends and I nearly licked our bowls, if THAT says anything! I used coconut milk because I hate the taste of soy (and soy is bad for you, plus I figured it would be a bit thicker. While I love banana, I wonder if one could tone down the banana flavor by using a still-green banana. I think I'm going to try it with 2 avocados and 1/2 banana to make it a little thicker and a little less banana-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I loved this recipe! However, I changed a few things to make it my own. I don't use soy milk so I didn't use that. I had a young thai coconut so I cracked that open and poured the water off then I scraped the coconut meat out. I used the coconut meat, avocados, organic unsweetened coconut flakes, Carob powder, agave nector for sweetener and a dash of organic vanilla extract. I am licking the bowl as I speak....Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlamotivates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I love this pudding! I followed the directions exactly, except I only had vanilla flavored soy milk on hand - my husband commented that the pudding was a little too sweet - that's probably why. But it was still so good! We will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is a great guilt free pudding and it's super healthy! I followed the recipe exactly, turned out excellent. I have made this pudding quite a few times and shared it with friends, who make it often as well. It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I think it is funny that some people thought it tasted to healthy and not like the store bought kind. It is made from avocado and banana of coarse they will not taste the same. :)My kids and I LOVED it. I put in a couple scoops of almond butter and didn't add the coconut because I had none. I also added honey instead of the agave. Thank you so much for the recipe. I will be making this for my kids lunch and mine too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Update 1/19/12 -- i have been making this fir such a long time and i have my own variation now thta i thinks beats the original. Use one large very ripe avocado, and one barely ripe banana. Note the distinction! Omit the coconut completely. Substitute 1/4 c honey for the agave. Substitute 1 cup vanilla coconut milk for the soy milk. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. You wont be sorry!!!! 5 stars for the sheer genius of this recipe! It's healthy and tasty - a true guilt free dessert. A couple things to mention - this is best served very cold. Otherwise the avocado taste comes through a little. Also, if you don't like banana, you may not care for this. The banana flavor is unmistakable. In fact this really should be called chocolate-banana pudding. But really, there are no complaints from me. I liked my bowl clean :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
OUTSTANDING! My kids never knew the difference and we were astounded at how yummy it was... Very surprising, excellent. A word to the wise: DO NOT TRY TO SUBSTITUTE OTHER INGREDIENTS. The only people to give lousy reviews are those without the proper ingredients - substitutions with 'raw food' recipes usually don't work as well, so please try it with what it calls for - especially the raw cocoa - this is NOT the cocoa you get from hershey's which is bitter and WILL RUIN this delicious recipe... Rice milk or other nut milk can be safely substituted - but not dairy - defeats the point of raw anyhow... =) Enjoy, loved it and will be making it many, many more times... =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States