Alder Wood-Smoked Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Wow for the recipe to get me going on using different spices with squash. I did substitute Liquid Smoke rather than smoke on grill and used peanut squash instead. I left out the butter completely. Flavor is fantastic. Way better than I anticipated. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I made it today. As I harvested it from my garden fresh Acorn. I backed it in a 375 degree oven in shallow baking dish, with water in it. Wrapped it in alumni foil. Mean time,chopped onion, garlic, carrotts, oil in a pan, chopped up five stripes of bacon. Heated the oil, added the onion the garlic, on low flame. Stirring constantly. In mean time I heated 2 cups of chicken bullion. I left chunky zuchini,s, carrots in my soup it is tasting soo good. And I added half and half and more curry to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika Bertrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was really good! I only used one squash, but didn't scrimp on the bacon, using 4 slices (Applewood Smoked) I also added some onion powder, and was also generous with the fresh parsley. I'll bet the bowl I have left over is even better tomorrow. If I make it again, I'll add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
WOW !!! This was fantastic. I am a member of a local club and in the fall we have "Soup Saturdays" so I made a large pot. The flavor was awesome. I highly recomend the garnish as it gives a subtle enhancement to the soup. The alder wood is perfect. My wife and I found ourselves nibbling on the squash right from the smoker. A definate repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DocDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I sauteed onion and garlic with a bit of the bacon fat and omitted the butter, the squash to be rich enough. After soup was done, I was under impressed. So, I chopped and sauteed two jalapenos and two poblanos to add; tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Delicious! I didnt make it exactly as the recipe called for but it turned out amazing anyway- I didnt smoke the squash-I baked it in the oven until it was soft and scooped it out after. I used turkey bacon instead (it has a smokey flavour too it) cut the butter and sour cream in half too. I wish I had doubled the recipe as it did not last long!! I topped it off with a few toasted pumpkin seeds and yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This is a great addition to Thanksgiving. If you have a smoker the acorn squash can be cooked for a few hours at the same time as the turkey, which gives it exceptional flavor. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This soup was amazing. Everyone in the house had second and thirds. I wouldn't tell my son what was in it until his third bowl. He doesn't do veggies. I shortened this process considerabley by cooking in the microwave for 3-4 minutes. Then split them and backed on cedar planks in the oven until soft. (soaked cedar planks) I also add 1 tsp. of liquid smoke to off set the non grilling. Make a double batch it goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States