Albondigas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I made this tonight for my grandparents. It was amazing. I followed the suggestions to add paprika, and cayenne pepper. And I added Taco seasoning too. I added my own touch with garlic powder and diced fresh jalapeños in the meatballs. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is the same recipe I have used for years and every now and then I make a few changes depending on who is eating it. I prefer to add a little garlic to the meatballs and a little mint, in winter I add a diced jalepeno(just for a little heat), but otherwise this recipe is fine. I also choose to top mine with juice from a couple slices of lime, but I grew up eating lime on pretty much anything mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
My family loved the recipe. I Just added more potatoes. And celery..2 jalapenos sliced while water was boiling so.it could Give it that spicy taste. It was perfect.Thank u..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Ok,,, so minor adjustments, since our family loves full flavor! I used chef johns meatball recipe which is also found on this site. And instead of adding meatballs to boiling broth, I browned them in olive oil, constantly shaking my Dutch oven to brown all sides as much as I can. When when they were brown, I deglazed them with wine white, a good half cup. Then I follow the recipe as written. As the other reviewers suggested, I too added some celery, only because I had on hand and white rice! Oh!!! And I used beef broth over bullion. This was hearty meal and sooooo delicious!! I served with garlic toast!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Loved it . The bread crumbs made them nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Excellent soup! The chopping takes some time, but it is a simple, fairly fail-proof recipe. I tweaked it a bit, doubling the salsa, using low sodium beef broth with the bullion cubes instead of water, and cooking the carrots for 10 minutes longer / earlier than the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is so easy and so D-Lish! It's one of those meals that you are looking forward to leftovers the next day! I add garlic to everything- so that was a given! We like to top off with Avo's and a squeeze of fresh citrus (lemon or lime). This is a recipe we have been making for years-this is just my first time to review it! Thanks Belen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This came out ok but a little bland for my tastes. It also took a long time for my meatballs to cook through (doubled cooking time). I will, however try this again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Simple, healthy, and tasty! I followed the base of the recipe, but added considerable seasoning to appease family tastes. My version: 1 lb. lean ground beef seasoned with a little sea salt, pepper, onion/garlic powders, cilantro, ancho chili pepper, and cumin. Only used 1/4 c bread crumbs and 1/4 c milk and let the meat "rest" while I chopped and prepped the veggies. Omitted the salsa, but tripled the liquid, using a mix of both beef and chicken bases (that was GOOD!) I also seasoned the broth with the same spices used for the meat to impart extra flavor. While the veggies were boiling, I shaped the meatballs. Didn't need to simmer as long as recipe stated. Served with tortilla chips and sliced avocadoes, this was good! This will be a regular fall/winter rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was a really good soup. I don't think a quart of water is enough. I added more water. The salsa made it too spicy for my liking so I will use only a cup next time. Add cilantro in the broth at the end rather than garnish it. I also added some left over shrimp in the broth and it was great. I think this would taste great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States