Albondigas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This recipe was okay I guess when it comes to Albondigas I like making them the way my mom showed me how to make them instead of bread crumbs USE RICE! that's actually what im used to making them with and grated onion gives the meat a lot of flavor, garlic and sometimes ill add very small small chopped up zucchini to the meat ball and salt and pepper and to the broth ill add onions carrots potatoes and again zucchini...No Salsa!!! and def no milk! a bay leaf and a very small amount of tomato sauce and a small amount of cabbage 5-8 mins before the soup is done and its AMAZINGLY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingmama2010

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was good tasting and easy to make. I like the flexibility to choose how spicy it is by the salsa you choose. I used Bobby Salazar's salsa - medium spicy. The recipe is good as is, however, I added about 1 TBS. minced garlic for my personal taste. Next time I think I will add celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
You can use ground pork instead of ground beef. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is so good! The meatballs need to be seasoned though before cooking, otherwise they are bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I've been making this for years and it continues to be a family favorite. It's perfect for a comforting, warm and healthy delicious dish and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by socalmama
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
To make it more like my mother's version of albondigas I adjusted the recipe as follows: did not add any salsa, and added the following veggies: corn, cabbage, and mexican squash. Very authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I only had ground sirloin, & my meatballs pre-made the night before,(baked on foil, draining on paper towels, thus removing a lot of fat), I like them small, so when you take a bite there's a little bit of soup ingredients in your spoon. The one thing added to mine is more potatoes ,scrubbed w/the skin on(nutrition in the skins}& I use only organic canned or boxed broth & tomatoes. I have been eating healthy for a great deal of my life, but now for about 12 yrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My family loves this recipe! Had to omit the carrots due to my daughter's allergy, but still tasted amazing! This recipe is highly requested in my home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I think this was a good recipe, but I do feel the meatballs needed to be seasoned a bit and the broth was a bit bland as well. I will definitely be adding a few ingredients next time for a flavor boost. But the recipe is really easy and can easily be adapted to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I made this tonight for my grandparents. It was amazing. I followed the suggestions to add paprika, and cayenne pepper. And I added Taco seasoning too. I added my own touch with garlic powder and diced fresh jalapeños in the meatballs. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States