Albondigas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Deliciously fresh-tasting, terrific vegetables, and very good meatballs. Awesome broth too. Here are a few tiny changes I made, only to use what I had on hand: mild salsa, 20 oz canned beef broth plus 12 oz water and 1 bouillon cube, plain breadcrumbs with a few shakes of dried basil and garlic powder. I used ground chuck too. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. For their simplicity, the meatballs were fantastic! I made the soup yesterday and put it in the fridge. Tonight before reheating, I skimmed off the very smallest amount of solidified fat before reheating. My skinny husband NEVER takes a second serving of ANYTHING, but you guessed it! He took a second bowl. It's that good. Some of the other reviews have some good suggestions for variations...but I don't think I'll change this! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckkc311
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Used recipe as is. Used spice salsa! Jalapeños might be a great addition next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Easy to follow recipe, came out exactly as described. The broth is delicious, savory and, if you add a salsa with heat, spicy. The vegetables and meatballs balance out the spice, though you could season the meat with spices of your choice if you prefer it a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Made it almost exactly ( doubled it) added chopped cilantro and dash of garlic to turkey meatballs. Loved it! Kids asked for more veggies next time... Corn and black beans. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lexy Hnz
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
We didn't have potato so we used celery. Used leftover crumbled meatloaf for meatballs. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexy Hnz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Simple and delicious just added some celery but stuck to recipe loved it thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
great guideline recipe. i added crushed tomatos, garlic salt, browned the meatballs before adding and added raw rice and let cook till done. i also made a green salsa to the table to add ur own personal heat. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Saldivar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruby
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
made this recipe with no time to spare doubled ingredients using half beef broth.To make meat balls used 2 eggs ,1/3 cup cilantro 2/3 cup raw rice and 3 lbs ground beef.for soup I used a big can of tomatoes, a little can of corn,8 carrots, 6 cerlery stalks and 2 huge potatoes threw in 1/3 cup of rice before closing lid. and cooked as recipe said to came out sooooo gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by feeds2many
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I loved this soup. I added basil, Worcestershire sauce and garlic salt to the meatball. I used beef broth instead of water and served it with my favorite cheddar drop biscuits. This soup is perfect for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I also mixed wild rice,chopped onions,garlic and cilantro in the meatballs then brown them before adding them to the boiling broth. Then 30 minutes later I add chopped cabbage (green) to the soup. I also make frybread to go with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States