Albondigas Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Although the instructions are a great starting place, the soup needed: carrots, onion & celery. Also try rolling the meatballs in ground fresh spearmint (yerba buena) before the flour. For spicy (and traditional) eat with "jalapeños en vinagre" and rolled up tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I was looking for an AUTHENTIC recipe for Albondigas, and that is what this is! I did make some minor adjustments to it like how my sister-in-law used to make it, with the exception of putting jalepenos inside the albondigas. The other recipes that do not have you put the rice in the albondigas are not even nearly authentic, real albondigas have rice inside! There are several ways to change this a little, like I said put jalepeno slice inside, add a can of chipotle peppers to the sauce, add what ever soup veggies you want. I like to serve mine with tortilla chips, like crackers and chicken noodle soup. Gracias por este receta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Rice! You're recipe has rice & that's how I have always had homemade Albongias soup. Your recipe is the only one I found that had rice in the meatballs. I did make a few minor adjustments and added carrots, onions & chipotle peppers to the broth. Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvn8ive

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
Good starter to what became a great soup - Added squash, carrots, celery, and purede(?) tomatoes and yes, hot sauce. Another rave from my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this twice, almost exactly as written. The potatoes I used were "Red Gold" (supposed to be "excellent for boiling"), the rice was long-grain, and the flour was "unbleached flour" (it didn't say "all-purpose", but I guess that's implied). I found that the amount of flour was too much, even though I thought I coated the meatballs well with it; maybe 1/3 cup would have been enough. I made this once with 90% beef and once with 96%; I thought 90% would add a bit of fat to the soup, but it was too much; 96% worked great. I simmered the second stage for 1 hour, but the potatoes were still slightly underdone, and some of the meatballs still a little pink inside. The meatballs tasted great, but the broth was pretty bland; it was better the next day, though. I might make this again, but perhaps substituting broth for some of the water, and maybe adding another vegetable or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Simple and tasty. I had all of the ingredients here at home. Didn't have to shop for them :) that's always a plus for me. I followed the others' suggestions and added: carrots, squash, tomatoes and a bit of chicken consume to the broth. I didn't have onions or I would have added that too. So far, it is a wonderful comfort food to have this cool evening. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanna be cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This recipe sounded great but had no flavor at all. I had to add beef bouillion, thyme, a can of cream of chicken soup and some salt to make it edible. I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Recipe was perfect. I removed the potatoes, and added 4 carrots, 3 small squaches and chopped up 1 small onion for perfection. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
The broth was too bland and the meatballs were too spicy. I'd decrease the oregano by at least half. If I made this again, I think I'd probably NOT make meatballs and just throw all the ingredients in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the one my mother in law made with these variations, she cooked the meatballs in tomatoes and then added greenbeans at the end. We enjoy them with warm tortillas and cheese spinkled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States