Albondigas Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this twice, almost exactly as written. The potatoes I used were "Red Gold" (supposed to be "excellent for boiling"), the rice was long-grain, and the flour was "unbleached flour" (it didn't say "all-purpose", but I guess that's implied). I found that the amount of flour was too much, even though I thought I coated the meatballs well with it; maybe 1/3 cup would have been enough. I made this once with 90% beef and once with 96%; I thought 90% would add a bit of fat to the soup, but it was too much; 96% worked great. I simmered the second stage for 1 hour, but the potatoes were still slightly underdone, and some of the meatballs still a little pink inside. The meatballs tasted great, but the broth was pretty bland; it was better the next day, though. I might make this again, but perhaps substituting broth for some of the water, and maybe adding another vegetable or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I was looking for an AUTHENTIC recipe for Albondigas, and that is what this is! I did make some minor adjustments to it like how my sister-in-law used to make it, with the exception of putting jalepenos inside the albondigas. The other recipes that do not have you put the rice in the albondigas are not even nearly authentic, real albondigas have rice inside! There are several ways to change this a little, like I said put jalepeno slice inside, add a can of chipotle peppers to the sauce, add what ever soup veggies you want. I like to serve mine with tortilla chips, like crackers and chicken noodle soup. Gracias por este receta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I really liked this soup. It was easy to make, especially since I don't really like to cook. I made a few changes: added more garlic, cumin, & oregano to the meatballs and broth. Also added a little more rice to the broth. The next time I make this, I will use fresh garlic and add onions in addition to the previous changes. A good & flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Never thought to do soup like this. Really a fun recipe to make. The smell of the oregano is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Changed this up a bit to make it more "authentic" (according to my 1/8th spanish husband)...just like his grandmaw makes, now. Omitted the pork sausage, used Masa instead of corn meal, chicken broth instead of beef, picante sauce for the salsa and mixed the rice (uncooked) into the meatballs before dropping into our soup. Really liked this one alot....will def. make again! Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morganirek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Livingston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I made this for my father, and he loved it, I added carrots, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Although the instructions are a great starting place, the soup needed: carrots, onion & celery. Also try rolling the meatballs in ground fresh spearmint (yerba buena) before the flour. For spicy (and traditional) eat with "jalapeños en vinagre" and rolled up tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This recipe was great and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This recipe is okay, but it is much better if you add carrots, squash and sliced onions. If you make these changes it makes a more authentic soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States