Albondigas Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
instead of cabbage added corn & rice, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was tasty and hubbie liked it too. I didnt have cabbage or celery, so used some fresh tomato and zuccini instead. Also good without the cumin seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe. My husband is hispanic and he thought it was real tasty and authentic. I substituted the cans of stewed tomatoes with Hunt’s tomato sauce because I don’t care for canned tomatoes. I then cut 6 roman tomatoes into large chunks and added it to the soup. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I made little meatballs, and I left out the cabbage. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Excellant! I used broth rather than boullion. Wouldn't hurt to add 1-2 cups more liquid but it turned out great and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Super yummy. I didn't add the cabbage because I didn't have any, and since we have little ones, I skipped the pepper flakes. I did use 2 more cups of water (with added bouillon.) Everything else stayed the same. I don't know how big "tiny" is, but I made my meatballs about an inch each. Next time I'll make them a bit smaller so they will be bite-size for the kids. My entire family liked this recipe, so I will be adding this recipe to my collection. (esp. for cold winter nights!) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
My bf loved this soup but I thought it could have been better. I agree with the other reviewer who said that they didn't like the sweetness in the soup from the cabbage. Next time I would omit the cabbage for these reasons. I would also add more oregano and probably salt and pepper the meatballs before making small meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I discovered this one a while back and it's terrific! I've made it at least 10 times now and what's wonderful about this recipe is that when you follow the directions, and you take that first taste, it's perfect. I read the other reviews and i agree, 4 cups is not alot of water, but the vegetables will release alot of water; however, I use two KNORR SWISS beef boullion cubes which makes 2 cups of broth per cube, and i add an additional two cups of water, totalling six cups when i start out. This leaves me with plenty of broth. Another thing though, is if you like spicy, just remember, the cabbage tends to get sweet when you cook it, so you might consider leaving it out, but since I'm a gringo, I'm not a fan of burn my mouth out spicy food, so this soup is the perfect balance and absolutely delicious. Oh, and one other thing, I found that by chopping up some fresh cilantro and sprinkling it on top of each bowl when i serve it adds a real fragrant and authentic finish to this soup. Try it, and you'll never eat this soup againwithout it . Thanks Beatrice for making me happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I'm sorry, but I just didn't like the flavoring of this soup. It was too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
The soup tasted great and was easy to make. This one is going into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Beesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States