Albondigas Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I had high hopes for this. Not very spicy and a little bland. I'm giving a 4 because I altered the taste by using ground turkey. Otherwise I would have given a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Delicious!! My whole family of picky eaters enjoyed this. Reminds me of the soup my grandma made when I was a kid. I read some of the reviews and did add 6 cups of water instead of the couple, and used 4 bouillion cubes, 3 might have just been fine but I was being cautious. Made plently. Going to make again tonight by request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof2kitties

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Many, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was a really good soup. My only complaint was that the meatballs didn't have quite enough flavour. Next time I will add some garlic and onion powder and salt and pepper to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
when it comes to authentic mexican food, I know my stuff. I omit bell peppers and add potatoes, i also substitute cumin seeds for the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Loved it! Added cilantro to my meat balls which kicked it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is the first Albondigas Soup I've ever had, so I can't compare it to others but it is really good. I almost double the meat and definitely double the spices. I use Napa Cabbage instead of the awful green stuff. It's good for a light dinner which is how we always have it. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
We really enjoyed it. Followed recipe exactly with the exception of using ground buffalo instead of ground beef. Next time, will add a pinch of salt to the meatball mixture. Tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
LOVED THIS SOUP! While my husband was still eating this he was telling me to add this to our rotation of soups. I think he went back for three servings. I didn't have cumin seeds so I just didn't use them. I had already browned the ground beef when I found this recipe so I didn't bother making meatballs therefore I didn't have to use bread crumbs or egg; I just added the onion and garlic to the soup after saute them with the carrots and celery for a few minutes. I only had a 28oz can of tomatoes so I used it all instead of spliting the can. The rest of the recipe I followed. I had about a cup of cooked ground hot italian sausage in the fridge so I added it to the soup a few minutes before serving just to get rid of the left over kicking up the heat of the soup a little more. Will be making this soup plenty of times durning the cool winter months. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made this soup tonight for dinner and it was yummy!! The only things I did different was substitute green beans and corn for the cabbage and peppers, because we didn't have any. And made the meatballs beforehand. I cooked them in the oven for 25 min at 350 degrees. I would make this again! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I absolutely loved this recipe!!! I just doubled the cumin also because I had no cumin seed. Will make this one often, and my entire family enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States