Albondigas Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This was VERY tasty! The meatballs did tend to fall apart a bit while cooking in the broth, but it didn't matter because the flavor was sooooo good! The leftovers were equally enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Great soup! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
although this is a very good recipe it could stand a little bit of improvement, but overall it was very good. My husband said it was just like his grand mothers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
I really liked this. The first time I made it as is. The second time I used 1 tsp cumin powder, no seeds, 3 cups chopped cabbage, rather than wedges and added a 1/2 cup frozen corn. It's a very pretty, tasty, spicy soup. Absolutely will make it again. It's perfect for the -20C temperatures were having here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This was ok. The broth was nice and spicy but the meatballs were a little bland. I increased the boullion to 3 cubes and water to 6 cups because initially there didn't seem to be enough broth. If I made again I would probably add a little rice to it. I simmered it for an hour just to make sure the meat was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was great! It has simple ingredients however an abundance of flavor! I added a 1/2lb of hamburger to increase number of meatballs, added an additional bouillon cube and 2 cups of water for more broth. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe for 10 years! It is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
The soup tasted great and was easy to make. This one is going into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Beesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I'm sorry, but I just didn't like the flavoring of this soup. It was too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I discovered this one a while back and it's terrific! I've made it at least 10 times now and what's wonderful about this recipe is that when you follow the directions, and you take that first taste, it's perfect. I read the other reviews and i agree, 4 cups is not alot of water, but the vegetables will release alot of water; however, I use two KNORR SWISS beef boullion cubes which makes 2 cups of broth per cube, and i add an additional two cups of water, totalling six cups when i start out. This leaves me with plenty of broth. Another thing though, is if you like spicy, just remember, the cabbage tends to get sweet when you cook it, so you might consider leaving it out, but since I'm a gringo, I'm not a fan of burn my mouth out spicy food, so this soup is the perfect balance and absolutely delicious. Oh, and one other thing, I found that by chopping up some fresh cilantro and sprinkling it on top of each bowl when i serve it adds a real fragrant and authentic finish to this soup. Try it, and you'll never eat this soup againwithout it . Thanks Beatrice for making me happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States