Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
The taste of this soup was great, however I was not able to make the meatballs stick at all. I wanted to use the suggestion of rolling out like a snake...it was not happening. I then added another beaten egg and more corn meal, again not happening...any suggestions? I did use a lb sausage and added 1/2 cup brown rice to the meatballs and 1/2 cup to the soup with diced carrots and celery. Again the taste was great, but presentation not so much. Help, I would love to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
We were in the mood for soup and I just happened across this recipe! It is awesome! I used chorizo sausage and my meatballs came out really sticky and hard to roll, so maybe that's why. I wanted to put it in the slow cooker, so I simmered the meat balls in a pan with 2 cans beef broth, skimmed off the fat, and added it to the rest of the ingredients in the slow cooker. I let it cook around 6 hours on high and it was awesome. I added cooked rice to the bowls of soup as I was serving them, and topped it with some cheese and tortilla strips! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Absolutely delicious...I doubled the recipe and served this soup for guests and all went back for seconds. There was a small amount leftover, so I added several ears' worth of fresh-from-the-garden corn and my husband and I finished it off the next day. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krispy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Great recipe. We made it for 8 and had lots of leftovers for the 2 of us. we will be definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I had a hard time rating this recipe. It made a very good soup however, it was VERY greasy. It was so greasy that we ate very little of it. I checked the recipe to make sure I did not miss a step - and I didn't. The next day I took all the grease off and heated it up and it was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is amazing!!! And very easy - I just used the meatballs from Costco and added rice to the soup. YUM!! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is fantastic! Very flavorful. My husband is Mexican and stated that this was even better than his mother's albondigas soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was very good! I absolutely loved the broth, it was the perfect amount of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yummy! I changed it up a little to my taste. I added chopped fresh spinach (about 1 1/2 cups) to the meatballs and browned them in olive oil (I doubled the recipe)and I added about 2 cups of fresh french style string beans cut into 1" pieces. I had all of this in my crock pot and about 15 min b/4 serving, I stacked fresh spinach on the top. It was absolutely wonderful. Another keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlechien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States