Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
My family has made this soup for years but the is by far the best recipe!!!! I think it has alot to do with the green salsa and also the use of cornmeal mixed in with the meatballs. It is so yummy and it gets even better the next day. I made this step by step as suggested and I do not think it needs any addtions. My family was very happy. Thank you for the recipe...it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe except used leftover rice. My husband and I both like it, and it will be a good starting off point for other soups. Next time we'll add some veggies like corn or who knows what. This makes a LOT of soup, but it's good stuff, even leftover the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
The taste of this soup was great, however I was not able to make the meatballs stick at all. I wanted to use the suggestion of rolling out like a snake...it was not happening. I then added another beaten egg and more corn meal, again not happening...any suggestions? I did use a lb sausage and added 1/2 cup brown rice to the meatballs and 1/2 cup to the soup with diced carrots and celery. Again the taste was great, but presentation not so much. Help, I would love to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
We were in the mood for soup and I just happened across this recipe! It is awesome! I used chorizo sausage and my meatballs came out really sticky and hard to roll, so maybe that's why. I wanted to put it in the slow cooker, so I simmered the meat balls in a pan with 2 cans beef broth, skimmed off the fat, and added it to the rest of the ingredients in the slow cooker. I let it cook around 6 hours on high and it was awesome. I added cooked rice to the bowls of soup as I was serving them, and topped it with some cheese and tortilla strips! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Absolutely delicious...I doubled the recipe and served this soup for guests and all went back for seconds. There was a small amount leftover, so I added several ears' worth of fresh-from-the-garden corn and my husband and I finished it off the next day. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krispy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Great recipe. We made it for 8 and had lots of leftovers for the 2 of us. we will be definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I had a hard time rating this recipe. It made a very good soup however, it was VERY greasy. It was so greasy that we ate very little of it. I checked the recipe to make sure I did not miss a step - and I didn't. The next day I took all the grease off and heated it up and it was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is amazing!!! And very easy - I just used the meatballs from Costco and added rice to the soup. YUM!! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is fantastic! Very flavorful. My husband is Mexican and stated that this was even better than his mother's albondigas soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States