Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Excellent!!! Easy, flavorfull and satisfying. Searching for salsa verde is worth the trouble, my store carried only 1 brand. i took the advice of other reviewers and used 1 full cup of rice, but next time i'll cut the salsa down because my husband is not a big fan of spicy foods. my picky 15 year old stepson and i each had 2 large bowls, it was absolutely delicious. a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emiko Marcy Covert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Tip for making meatballs: roll meat mixture out like a snake, and cut off same sized pieces. Use a colander to roll meat pieces around, this will make them round. Perfect, same-sized meatballs everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This is my new favorite soup to make! I used salsa verde and chicken broth. I also used a cup of rice. Don't be fooled by the thin consistency when you first start the soup. It ends up thick and hearty! The only problem is that I can never remember the name....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
My husband has been requesting this soup for a while, so I made it for Christmas Eve. It makes quite a lot! I added a bit more salsa, and added some shredded cheese on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Awsome, this has been a huge hit with my family and friends. I add extra rice as well as chunks of carrots, celery, onion and more tomatos just because we like it like that. And I was just told my version is better than the best Mexican restraunt here where we live! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Fritzie
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My husband and I both are nuts about this soup. I mix rice in with the meatballs, but he likes it in with the soup too. Also I sub in cilantro for basil. At least in the winter. :) Labor intensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Fritzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Wow! This recipe has become one of my favorite soups/stews to prepare and serve to my family and friends! YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I had most of the ingredients on hand so I decided to make this soup. I was amazed how good this was. Even my husband, who doesn’t think soup is a meal, loved it. For the meatballs I used only beef. I used chopped fresh cilantro, not basil. Instead of the garlic and salt I used Adobo. I don’t keep cornmeal on hand so I used seasoned bread crumbs. I lightly browned the meatballs, and then added the liquids. I don’t like the taste of canned beef broth so I used chicken. The quality of the salsa is key. I used Goya Salsa Verde. I would not try to use a red salsa in this dish, as the person below stated. Toward the end I added a couple of handfuls of medium egg noodles (Kids prefer noodles over rice). Also I snuck in package of thawed chopped spinach. The soup is so full of flavor the kids didn’t even know. Rich flavorful broth, with tender meatballs this meal is a real winner. A definite must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This soup recipe was really great just made a few alterations such as adding vegetable broth along with the beef broth. I also added some fresh cilantro sprigs in place of the fresh basil I thought that doing this made everything come together very well. As a garnish use some fresh chopped cilantro and dried red pepper flakes. The family is sure to love it. Thank you so much for sharing this simple yet delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Excellent soup! Had a nice "comfort-food" taste, with a hint of heat. We topped it with a tiny bit of chopped cilantro, and it was a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States