Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I left out the cornmeal to keep it more authentic. Also, What helps hold the meatballs together is adding uncooked white rice to the meat mixture instead of the broth. Just like how my abuelita made, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Great classic, base soup. Warning: You'll need at least an 8 qt. pot. Did not have jar salsa so I made my own (2 chopped tomatoes, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1/2 chopped onion, 2T olive oil, 1/4 c lemon juice, 3T diced/canned green chilis, S&P). Used 3, 32 oz. containers of broth (1 beef, 1 chicken, 1 veg). Also increasedthe oregano and and basil to 1T (you can barely taste them if you don't). Baked very tiny meatballs (no larger than 1" in diameter--trick using collander doesn't really save any time over making by hand) in 350 oven for 25 mins. Sauteed onion with 1 cup carrots in a little olive oil before adding rest of soup ingredients. As suggested, when simmering was reached, I dropped the cooked meatballs in and simmered 40 mins more. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Husband and I thought it was too spicy and the meatballs didn't have any flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csantare

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I love this recipe and so does my family. I've made it for family gatherings and it's always a hit. I usually purchase a loaf of french bread and it's wonderful for dipping into the sauce as you eat it. I do modify the recipe a bit though. Instead of using the calculated pork sausage I substitute it with more ground beef or I just use all ground turkey, depending on my mood or what I have at home. I don't always have fresh basil so I'll use the regular dried type. Oh, and the best tip of all is I don't boil the meatballs in the sauce I bake them first to remove most of the fat (oven 350 degrees for about half hour or use your best judgement for your own oven) and once they're cooked I add them to the sauce with the remaining ingredients and cook at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I Love this soup so much, and its so easy to change it how you like it. As is, its wonderful, but I do like to add other things to it to make it more like my grandmothers. I always use a can of chile verde salsa, and using Cumin is a Must. I like mine with chopped up stalk of celery, squash, cabbage, and a bundle of cilantro. (Cabbage and cilantro should be added in last, after the meatballs). I'm diabetic so I usually omit breadcrumbs, rice, and milk with no problems too. **By the way... If you take out the Rice it reduces the cooking time by at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I have made this recipe many times and it is such a crowd pleaser. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This soup was great! I made it and both my brother and my husband loved it. I've never made soup before and it was pretty easy. I would make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I have been making albondigas for years, but my recipe never approached the albondigas I'd have when eating out, so I questioned its authenticity and turned to Allrecipes for a different, more traditional take. This one definitely comes close, and couldn't be more opposite from what I was used to making - beef broth instead of chicken broth, no lime juice or jalapenos but the addition of salsa, etc. In short, this version is very good, and a much closer representation of what true albondigas tastes like. I did add carrots (great touch) but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This was even better reheated the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I've made this twice in 2 weeks. I grew up in San Diego and it tastes just like what I used to get there as a kid. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this tonight and the whole family loved it! I made a few changes, as usual. I used brown rice, and threw it in from the beginning so it'd have plenty of time to cook. I also added carrots and celery, per others' recommendations. I added swiss chard at the very end, too. I used cilantro where it called for basil, and I omitted the ground pork. And I just used one large can of tomatoes. It was wonderful! Thanks for a great base for lots of creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States