Albondigas Sinaloenses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Such a family friendly comfort food. Unfortunately it was a little on the bland side for the adults . . . the kid loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Just like my sweet grandma always made for us as children. the mint is most definatly the secret that makes all the difference. I would say use as much or little as you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is really close to the real deal. a few tips though, the way my mom made it growing up was adding minced mint to the meat as well as the sprigs to the broth, use rice and flour in the meat nd use a whole egg. instead of using the tomatoes and onions in the meatballs add to the broth. use Chicken or beef boullin to flavor and add carrots, potatoes and cabbage. add lemon juice and hot suace after serving, Heat up some corn tortillas, roll'em up and dip as you eat the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe. Add some lemon or lime juice to the soup when eating it and warm some corn tortilla's and hot sauce (Tapatio is my fav). You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEFITA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This recipe is close to the real deal. A few things I used to see my mother do different was to add the whole egg instead of egg white (ball will hold better) and add about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of rice to your meat before forming into a ball. One more thing, to add more flavoring, add 1 or 2 jalapeno peppers and some chicken bullion to the broth while cooking. Hope this helps. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Not awesome, but pretty good. I don';t hink there was enough broth for the amount of meat. The meatballs didn't hold their shape, so it turned out more like chili, but the mint was good. it was really thick, so I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This is delicious and the mint is a delicate yet fragrant touch. For a little 'extra' I added beef stock instead of water, a chillie and a teaspoon of cajun spice. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is a very good soup. Lots of flavor. The only problem is the recipe doesn't state how much water and how much mint so I guessed at 2 c water and I used almost all the mint that came in the container, except the 2 tbs set aside for the meatballs. Turned out fine. I added cabbage, potatoes and corn to the soup and it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States