Alaskan Spicy Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Perfect for spicing up the wait before dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
the flavors were okay but i had a difficult time getting the cheese to melt and mix with the cream. I may try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Love this and make it often! It's the closest I've found to what we get at some Mexican restaurants. I don't use a double boiler -- just melt the cheese in a sauce pan VERY slowly on low, and stir occasionally. I add a small amount of cream cheese along with the pepperjack, and since we love the taste of cumin, I add that at the end. Also, I use 2 percent milk instead of half and half (less amount). I have never had trouble mixing the cheese and milk (as others have stated). The only problem I ever had was when I made it a day ahead, refrigerated it, then micro-waved it -- the milk separated from the cheese and was a big lump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I prepared this dip for my women's Bunco group of twelve. Many thought it was an excellant dip. I did not have a double boiler so prepared it in the microwave on a low power setting and kept it warm in my fondue pot during the Bunco game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Like Annie, I had difficulty getting the half and half and the cheese to mix. I think perhaps you need to combine it and whisk and serve *right away*, or perhaps at a very high temperature, although it was already difficult to clean my double boiler and that might make it worse. Even as a cheese blob, though, my dad loved it, and I found the flavour even more pleasing on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This dip was very good and has lots of potential to be great. More tomatoes and more spice are needed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
The recipe sounded great, and the flavours were wonderful, but I guess I should have read the reviews first. I also had a tough time mixing the cream with the cheese. It turned out to be a big blob of cheese with veggies in it with a puddle of cream at the bottom. I ended up draining out the cream, and stuffing it in pasta shells with some ground sausage and ricotta cheese. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
tends to stiffen up if not kept warm..... overall a good recipe, not fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I LOVE it is so good Me and my Daughter mack it all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
The flavors are spicy and awesome. I cooked mine in a crock pot-just threw everything in and let it melt. I was able to mix the cream and cheese together, BUT the dip did separate when it cooled off, and reheating it in a microwave was do-able, but a little difficult if you have a microwave without power settings. Overall a quick and delish dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States