Alan's Ultimate Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This is an excellent high fiber muffin recipe! and easy to make. Thank you Alan! I used buckwheat flour, egg replacer, soy milk and honey with the rest of the given ingredients and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
THESE MUFFINS ARE REALLY GOOD AND TASTY. I ADDED CINNAMON CHIPS INSTEAD OF THE RAISINS, AND ALSO SPRINKLED A LITTLE CINNAMON SUGAR ON THE TOP. THEY WERE NOT TOO SWEET, BUT ADDED A LITTLE SWEETNESS TO IT. THE ONLY THING THAT CONFUSED ME, WAS IN THE DIRECTIONS, IT DOESN'T MENTION ADDING THE OIL, HONEY OR THE RAISINS. I JUST ADDED THE OIL AND HONEY TO THE LIQUID INGREDIENTS. REALLY GOOD MUFFINS! THANKS! SUE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
OK, this is the very first review I've ever actually done from probably 20 recipes I've tried. I love these muffins They astonished me. I've hardly used my bag of whole wheat flour for 4 years because everything I ever tried to make with it is dry. These are not dry. They are not sweet either. But they are very high in Fiber and vitamins. I think I'm going to try to add cocoa and some brown sugar to the recipe and choc. chips and try to get my daughter to eat them. I've been dying for a great bran muffin recipe that I don't feel guilty eating. Thanks so much for this. Oh, I also just added all liquid ingrediants together and dry together and then added them together. I don't know what size muffins that Alan makes but I made 24 regular muffin cup size muffins not 12. Couldn't find the barley malt flour so I just left it out. All the rest was exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is what a bran muffin should taste like! Thankyou to Latisha who said it was too dense, it was that"negative feedback"that made me want to try it.I`ve been looking for a dense and flavorful bran muffin and most often the sugar content is so high that is all one tastes. I use a"gold" whole wheat flour that I order from wheat Montana, it worked well in this recipe and it`s chemical-free.I also ground the raisins and then added some additional dried fruit blend consisting of cherries,blueberry and strawberry.I also added a scoop of no flavor soy based protein powder and got away with it! Thanks for a great muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This is a great recipe. I have whipped it up a few times now. My husband thinks I'm a kitchen genius! Reason enough to make these muffins! In fact I have a batch in the oven now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This was a wonderful recipe. I added walnuts, and 1/2 cup mollasses. Everyone really enjoyed them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I love these muffins. They are a great way to add fiber to your diet. Only change I made was to substitute ground flax seed for the barley flour. These do make 12 muffins - just use a regular 12-muffin pan and really pile the batter in there! Let them go over the top - they don't rise at all when they bake, and when you are done, you'll have the perfect bakery-type muffins with the big tops. Trust me - I thought the same thing and made 24 muffins with this once, and they were like hockey pucks. I was dubious but my husband kept saying, just make 12 and pile it on! He was right! :) These also taste better, in my opinion, if you store them in the fridge. I like them much better cold! Thanks for a great healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
So delicious and plenty of fiber. I used soy milk and soy yogurt instead of dairy and the muffins were amazing. The mix looks a little wet after combination but that's what keeps it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
So far, so good! Surprisingly, the ginger is not overwhelming in the taste. I followed the ingredient list until finding I had only 1/2 cup raisins, so added craisins to make up the difference. I also added 2-3 Tbl of natural sugar cane crystals since I like sweet muffins. I added all the wet ingredients to my food processor, beating the eggs in there, and then gradually added the dry mix. I followed one other reviewer's suggestion and piled the muffins high with batter. It still made 15 muffins. They were done just before 20 minutes were up, the toothpick test was clean, and they are moist even now 5 hours later. Definitely a "good and good for you" type of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
So, these are awesome! And it uses no brown sugar etc. All healthy whole grains. I replaced the oil with applesauce, and flaxseed meal for the bulgar, I like them sweet, so I added 1/2 cup splenda, maybe just a smidge too much. I made 12 muffins, perfect size!! Pile it!!! The only thing is that mine too 30 min to cook. But well worth it. My daughter put 1/2 cup peanut butter/chocolate chocolate chips. Very moist...one day and almost all gone. Will absolutely make these probably atleast once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States