Alan's Ultimate Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This is a great recipe. I have whipped it up a few times now. My husband thinks I'm a kitchen genius! Reason enough to make these muffins! In fact I have a batch in the oven now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is what a bran muffin should taste like! Thankyou to Latisha who said it was too dense, it was that"negative feedback"that made me want to try it.I`ve been looking for a dense and flavorful bran muffin and most often the sugar content is so high that is all one tastes. I use a"gold" whole wheat flour that I order from wheat Montana, it worked well in this recipe and it`s chemical-free.I also ground the raisins and then added some additional dried fruit blend consisting of cherries,blueberry and strawberry.I also added a scoop of no flavor soy based protein powder and got away with it! Thanks for a great muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
OK, this is the very first review I've ever actually done from probably 20 recipes I've tried. I love these muffins They astonished me. I've hardly used my bag of whole wheat flour for 4 years because everything I ever tried to make with it is dry. These are not dry. They are not sweet either. But they are very high in Fiber and vitamins. I think I'm going to try to add cocoa and some brown sugar to the recipe and choc. chips and try to get my daughter to eat them. I've been dying for a great bran muffin recipe that I don't feel guilty eating. Thanks so much for this. Oh, I also just added all liquid ingrediants together and dry together and then added them together. I don't know what size muffins that Alan makes but I made 24 regular muffin cup size muffins not 12. Couldn't find the barley malt flour so I just left it out. All the rest was exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
THESE MUFFINS ARE REALLY GOOD AND TASTY. I ADDED CINNAMON CHIPS INSTEAD OF THE RAISINS, AND ALSO SPRINKLED A LITTLE CINNAMON SUGAR ON THE TOP. THEY WERE NOT TOO SWEET, BUT ADDED A LITTLE SWEETNESS TO IT. THE ONLY THING THAT CONFUSED ME, WAS IN THE DIRECTIONS, IT DOESN'T MENTION ADDING THE OIL, HONEY OR THE RAISINS. I JUST ADDED THE OIL AND HONEY TO THE LIQUID INGREDIENTS. REALLY GOOD MUFFINS! THANKS! SUE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
These taste just you expect a bran muffin to. My kids wouldn't touch them (no surprise)but my husband and I liked them pretty well. Good roughage and good breakfast food. It was interesting to use some of the ingredients that were new to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This is an excellent high fiber muffin recipe! and easy to make. Thank you Alan! I used buckwheat flour, egg replacer, soy milk and honey with the rest of the given ingredients and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I really like them - because they were not so sweet than many other muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
I just made these muffins and they weren't sweet enough and were too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States