Alan's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
I found this recipe to be very good but, it was a little crumbly and I had a hard time rolling it out.I live in a fairly dry climate so next time I'll try more water, spoon by spoon.All in all, it was the best pie crust I have made.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I've always heard that a pie crust made with lard is exceptionally flakey. I had wanted to try a butter/lard combo, so when I found some "leafy" lard, I went for it. The crust was flavorful because of the butter, and flakey due to the lard; the dough was a little crumbly to work with, but I'll keep trying, and next time try adding just a touch more water to see what happens as I liked the results. Thanks, for sharing your recipe, Alan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I tried your "pie crust recipe" back on 10/01/02 .It came out EXCELLENT ,I now use it on a regular basis ,the lard gives it a taste of the country. Do you have any more EXCELLENT recipes to share..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Loved the butter/lard combination that made this both flavorful and flaky. I made this super-easy in my food processor - mixed the flour, salt, butter and lard with short, brief pulses until I got the consistency I wanted (pea-sized, as they say), then added chilled water, a tablespoon at a time, until the mixture just came together, so I didn't measure the water exactly. For those who found their crust "crumbly," you may not be adding enough water. This was one of the easier recipes to roll out too! I had no problems getting it into the pie plate whatsoever and it crimped beautifully. Next time, however, I may increase the amount of fat, either the butter or the lard, by maybe a couple of tablespoons to add a bit more tenderness and richness to the crust. Otherwise I would call this recipe notably reliable for novice and expert alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
What a great pie dough. The only thing I did differently was I cut in the butter/lard with a pastry blender. When I added the water, I tossed with a fork until dough started to come together. Then I work it with my hands. It was so easy to work with. Just great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
i have tryed great-great grandmom's and great grandmom's and down the line to myself and many on the inter net but this recipe is so easy and flaky that i will make this my hand down receipe to my kids and grand children thank you again alan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
GRRRRRREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. It's easy and pretty close to perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solsister8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This is the only recipe I use for pie crust or pastries. It is a no fail crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I have tried many recipes for pie crust, this one is easy and a great pastry to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREATBRITUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States