Alan's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a great recipe. I had absolutly no problems with this dough. It rolled out great and tasted fantastic. This is my new pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Loved the butter/lard combination that made this both flavorful and flaky. I made this super-easy in my food processor - mixed the flour, salt, butter and lard with short, brief pulses until I got the consistency I wanted (pea-sized, as they say), then added chilled water, a tablespoon at a time, until the mixture just came together, so I didn't measure the water exactly. For those who found their crust "crumbly," you may not be adding enough water. This was one of the easier recipes to roll out too! I had no problems getting it into the pie plate whatsoever and it crimped beautifully. Next time, however, I may increase the amount of fat, either the butter or the lard, by maybe a couple of tablespoons to add a bit more tenderness and richness to the crust. Otherwise I would call this recipe notably reliable for novice and expert alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe is very similar to the one I've been using! I use 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of lard/shortening for every 2 cups of flour. If I am using the crusts for a pie, I add a tablespoon of sugar to the flour mixture as well to make it a little tastier! I find that the butter makes the crust very tasty and tender while the lard makes it very flaky - the best of both worlds! Note: Remember to always start with really cold ingredients when making crust, when heated, the lard will pop to make little flaky pockets of buttery flavor! In addition, brush the top of the pie crust with an egg white before baking so that it looks glazed and golden when it comes out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Best Pie Crust! I use my food processor to cut in the butter & shortning and then add the water. One hint: Chill your water & shortening. Otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I've always heard that a pie crust made with lard is exceptionally flakey. I had wanted to try a butter/lard combo, so when I found some "leafy" lard, I went for it. The crust was flavorful because of the butter, and flakey due to the lard; the dough was a little crumbly to work with, but I'll keep trying, and next time try adding just a touch more water to see what happens as I liked the results. Thanks, for sharing your recipe, Alan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Pretty good, easy pie crust! I usually use a recipe that uses egg & vinegar, but it makes 6 crusts and I only wanted one today. The dough was easy to work with and puffed up nice & flaky for my Banana Cream Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
What a great pie dough. The only thing I did differently was I cut in the butter/lard with a pastry blender. When I added the water, I tossed with a fork until dough started to come together. Then I work it with my hands. It was so easy to work with. Just great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I made this crust and it turned out very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Dough is really easy to manage and tastes great. It is easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This is the only recipe I use for pie crust or pastries. It is a no fail crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States