Alan's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Best crust I've made from here. Unlike other crusts, this one just slide out of my Teflon pie pan. The butter makes it taste great and it yields enough for a top and button crust. I would recommend rolling out your crust and chilling again while mixing up your filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
My son made sweet potato pie using this pie crust recipe on Thankgiving. I woke up to the smell of Thanksgiving. It will be a wonderful memory in our new home. My mom has always been the best pie baker, mainly for her fabulous crust. This recipe is up there with her recipe. Kudos Alan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTRICIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I had never made pie crust before, but I got it right on the first try! Very easy to make and has a great taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This pie crust was my first, and it turned out great!! I used 1/4 cup of vegtable shortening instead of lard, though, and it was still flakey and delicious, I am sure to make it again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Not as flaky as my old standby recipe but I ran out of Crisco and had the ingredients for this one. Very nice taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
For me, this recipe did not make 2 crusts - more like one and a half or about 15 tart shells. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Tastes good, but VERY difficult to work with. It took me an hour to roll out 3 crusts. It was crumbly, and stuck like crazy to my rolling pin. Then it split and fell apart when I transferred it into the pie plates. I make pie regularly, but thought I'd like to try something new. I'll go back to my old standby Betty Crocker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was my first pie crust, and I loved it. I used shortening instead of lard (b/c it's what I had) and added more water. Yummy recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was my first pie crust ever and I loved it. It was flakey rolling out but I found if I rolled it slow it flattened out nice. Does anyone know if this recepie freezes well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trishherbert

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. It's easy and pretty close to perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solsister8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States