Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I "cheat" when making this--I use my slow-cooker!! I follow this recipe though and even now that I live in Memphis where BBQ is famous, people always want my secret and think mine is better than some of the highest rated restaurants!! You can't go wrong with this!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munford, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I am a culinary student. I recently made this recipe for 48 people in a production. I used apple wood to smoke the pork buts. I basted by dipping the buts into the sauce every hour and placing back into the smoker. I used a commercial smoker with a sheet pan at the bottom to catch the drips. I took those dripping and poured them into the sauce when I had finished smoking. (After wrapping in foil and adding sauce.) I then cooked the meat overnight at 165 (about 15 hours). The sauce was chilled over night so I could remove the fat. In the morning I shredded the pork with forks and added it back to the sauce. I held it this way for 24 hours. Next I simmered it to warm the pork and served it. Many people, chefs, other students commented on how good the pork was and how much they enjoyed the flavors. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This is it!!!! This creates the tender pulled pork that I have searched for! I have tried numerous smoked BBQ recipes - and while they all tasted good - they weren't perfect. This blows away them all and my guests agreed it was better than any they have ever tasted. I had to make extra sauce for the final simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
No butter. No water. 2X the rest. Cooked an 11 lb butt in the crock pot on low for 12 hours. Drained it reserving 5 cups of juice. Stripped the fat and bones & pulled the meat apart. Put meat back in the pot for another 2 hrs adding the juice back with 4 T liquid smoke. My husband said it was the BEST he's ever tasted and wants me to make it again so he can serve it to his poker buddies. Easy breezy and SO uber delish because of the twang & zip! This is my go to pulled pork recipe from here on out. UPDATE: It's Feb 7, 2012 and I'm STILL making this recipe. Had a Super Bowl party just last weekend and this is STILL a winner! Thanks, Robert, for sharing it. XOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This recipe is too good not to rate, I tried this recipe for my uncle's 50th birthday, and it was a hit. Everyone loved it, the smoked taste and flavor was out of this world. I smoked two boston butts at one time, at the end of the party there was not any left. I have request to make this at Thanksgiving but I will make it before then. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I am new at smoking meat so this was my first experience smoking a pork butt but as an Alabama resident, it is not my first time eating BBQ. It was awesome!!! It was a little tiring to baste the meat every hour but it was so worth it! I smoked my 9lb pork butt overnight @ 225 using Mesquite wood chips (11 hours). I basted and added new chips every hour or so. After 11 hours I took the pork out of the smoker and placed it in layers of tin foil and poured the 1c sauce over it, as recommended, and then covered it tightly. I then cooked it for an additional 4 hours without rebasting. Removed from smoker and let it cool for 30min before shredding the meat. I put the shredded meat it in the crockpot and added the additional 1c sauce and mixed. It was absolutely fantastic!!! Can't wait to make it again. Even my picky kids loved it and they never like anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This is an excellent recipe that we will use over and over again! My husband is from north Alabama and we loved it! We followed the recipe to the letter until the very end - I did not simmer the pork in the sauce. It had a nice flavor straight from the oven and I was afraid the simmering would make it too spicy for our 3 year old. Without the simmering, it was a huge hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
the best boston butt that I have ever had and will never cook one another way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpitts96

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This was fantastic, when we took the pork out of the oven and the foil all of the meat fell right off the bone leaving clean bones. This is a must if you own a smoker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
We tried this recipe but didn't get the results we expected. Smoked it for ever but the roast never got tender like we wanted it to. Was unable to pull it apart. Overall, this is a good recipe. We may have got a bad roast which is entirely possible. The sauce is very hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States