Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This is the BEST BBQ I have ever tasted. I have not made it myself yet, but a co-worker made this for a retirement party and its wonderful. The meat is very very tender and the flavor is out of this world. HOPE MINE TURNS OUT JUST AS GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This recipe will win you a place of honor in the neighborhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This was fantastic, when we took the pork out of the oven and the foil all of the meat fell right off the bone leaving clean bones. This is a must if you own a smoker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This recipe is great have made it many times each time same as the first great always. Thank for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DA73VID

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I am a culinary student. I recently made this recipe for 48 people in a production. I used apple wood to smoke the pork buts. I basted by dipping the buts into the sauce every hour and placing back into the smoker. I used a commercial smoker with a sheet pan at the bottom to catch the drips. I took those dripping and poured them into the sauce when I had finished smoking. (After wrapping in foil and adding sauce.) I then cooked the meat overnight at 165 (about 15 hours). The sauce was chilled over night so I could remove the fat. In the morning I shredded the pork with forks and added it back to the sauce. I held it this way for 24 hours. Next I simmered it to warm the pork and served it. Many people, chefs, other students commented on how good the pork was and how much they enjoyed the flavors. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Wonderful recipe. I used apple wood in the smoker and basted the butt once every hour from about 12:00 pm to 9:00 pm. After that, I wrapped in foil and lightly smoked but kept the heat until about 3:00pm the next afternoon. Turned out great! Wonderfully sweet and spicy all at once. I didn't return the pulled pork to the sauce and simmer like suggested, but it tasted great right out of the smoker with some sauce on the side...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This is it!!!! This creates the tender pulled pork that I have searched for! I have tried numerous smoked BBQ recipes - and while they all tasted good - they weren't perfect. This blows away them all and my guests agreed it was better than any they have ever tasted. I had to make extra sauce for the final simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This recipe is too good not to rate, I tried this recipe for my uncle's 50th birthday, and it was a hit. Everyone loved it, the smoked taste and flavor was out of this world. I smoked two boston butts at one time, at the end of the party there was not any left. I have request to make this at Thanksgiving but I will make it before then. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Wow, this is awesome! This was a lot of work but it is absolutely delicious! We used a 10 lb butt roast and used 1 and 1/2 times this recipe and it was plenty. If you have the time and interest this is a fabulous recipe. Thank you for sharing Robert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I give it ten stars!!! We are big fans of pulled pork, and this one has the best flavor we have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Clayton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States