Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
No butter. No water. 2X the rest. Cooked an 11 lb butt in the crock pot on low for 12 hours. Drained it reserving 5 cups of juice. Stripped the fat and bones & pulled the meat apart. Put meat back in the pot for another 2 hrs adding the juice back with 4 T liquid smoke. My husband said it was the BEST he's ever tasted and wants me to make it again so he can serve it to his poker buddies. Easy breezy and SO uber delish because of the twang & zip! This is my go to pulled pork recipe from here on out. UPDATE: It's Feb 7, 2012 and I'm STILL making this recipe. Had a Super Bowl party just last weekend and this is STILL a winner! Thanks, Robert, for sharing it. XOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
OMG! This is awesome! It makes a ton and is great to make ahead and freeze. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I am new at smoking meat so this was my first experience smoking a pork butt but as an Alabama resident, it is not my first time eating BBQ. It was awesome!!! It was a little tiring to baste the meat every hour but it was so worth it! I smoked my 9lb pork butt overnight @ 225 using Mesquite wood chips (11 hours). I basted and added new chips every hour or so. After 11 hours I took the pork out of the smoker and placed it in layers of tin foil and poured the 1c sauce over it, as recommended, and then covered it tightly. I then cooked it for an additional 4 hours without rebasting. Removed from smoker and let it cool for 30min before shredding the meat. I put the shredded meat it in the crockpot and added the additional 1c sauce and mixed. It was absolutely fantastic!!! Can't wait to make it again. Even my picky kids loved it and they never like anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was way better than I could have even imagined. It made a lot of sauce, but I saved it for the next time I make it.We all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Fantastic. I've never made pulled pork before, but first time trying this recipe, it tasted like we've been doing it all our lives. Used an electric smoker and finished off in the oven. Also cut down the butter in half, which made the marinade a little less saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
man, this is the best...thanks for the recipe...I'd been searching for a good pulled pork recipe. The pork with cole slaw and homemade bread is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Skipped the butter. Roast provided plenty of its own moistness. Topped sandwiches with cole slaw. Delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
great recipe Iam from the south this is the way I remembered bbq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
ok, but to much vinegar. There are better recipes on this site. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States