Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I am new at smoking meat so this was my first experience smoking a pork butt but as an Alabama resident, it is not my first time eating BBQ. It was awesome!!! It was a little tiring to baste the meat every hour but it was so worth it! I smoked my 9lb pork butt overnight @ 225 using Mesquite wood chips (11 hours). I basted and added new chips every hour or so. After 11 hours I took the pork out of the smoker and placed it in layers of tin foil and poured the 1c sauce over it, as recommended, and then covered it tightly. I then cooked it for an additional 4 hours without rebasting. Removed from smoker and let it cool for 30min before shredding the meat. I put the shredded meat it in the crockpot and added the additional 1c sauce and mixed. It was absolutely fantastic!!! Can't wait to make it again. Even my picky kids loved it and they never like anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was way better than I could have even imagined. It made a lot of sauce, but I saved it for the next time I make it.We all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Fantastic. I've never made pulled pork before, but first time trying this recipe, it tasted like we've been doing it all our lives. Used an electric smoker and finished off in the oven. Also cut down the butter in half, which made the marinade a little less saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
man, this is the best...thanks for the recipe...I'd been searching for a good pulled pork recipe. The pork with cole slaw and homemade bread is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Skipped the butter. Roast provided plenty of its own moistness. Topped sandwiches with cole slaw. Delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
great recipe Iam from the south this is the way I remembered bbq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
ok, but to much vinegar. There are better recipes on this site. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This recipe was awsome! My husband made it yesterday and it so good we had to invite our neighbors over to try it too. Best recipe we have found yet! We will be using it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Sweeeeeeet . Some of the best pork I've ever had . Not to too much pepper ( for me ) . everyone that ate it loved it and some asked for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I followed the ingredients exactly except I put it into my crock pot for 10 hours on low. It was EXCELLENT. All my family gave it rave reviews. So moist and great flavor. You need to try this on a roll with some slaw on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States