Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I really miss southern cuisine :) This brought back great memories of Mississippi! I make my own bbq sauce, Half I leave as is, half I serve in my bbq. It is a hit every time! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisonodar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Really good and super simple. Made it overnight in the crockpot. Used a pork shoulder with single recipe, no butter or water in the crock for 10+ hours. Easy on the peppers when multiplying recipe as everyone thought it was too peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe is amazing!! I cooked a pork roast in a slow cooker for 5 hours and then shredded it and grilled it in a grilling basket on a gas grill for about 20 minutes (occasionally spooning some of the broth on it while grilling). The first time I followed the recipe exactly but it was too peppery. I did it a second time and cut the black and red pepper in half and it was perfect!! I also added some liquid smoke as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Delicious! If you are cooking this in a show cooker, I recommend potting a little less spices on the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I used a 3.5 lb. butt roast and put it in the crockpot since I don't have a smoker. I turned it over in the liquids every couple hours. It was done at 8 hours on low. It pulled right off the bone and shredded easily. I drained off the fat from the liquids and added the shredded meat back in to simmer 30 minutes more. I added a couple teaspoons liquid smoke and a couple tablespoons Pampered Chef Smoky barbecue rub then. It is soooo yummy! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I went the slow cooker route. It left my whole apartment smelling like vinegar instead of smoke, but it was super moist and tender. Flavor wise it was pretty good with a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Do not kid yourself the sauce is HOTTTT. I like to mix it with some memphis style store bough BBQ sauce and eat it on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
the best boston butt that I have ever had and will never cook one another way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpitts96

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Yummy - need to start on this earlier. The juice was wonderful spooned over the meat on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
No butter. No water. 2X the rest. Cooked an 11 lb butt in the crock pot on low for 12 hours. Drained it reserving 5 cups of juice. Stripped the fat and bones & pulled the meat apart. Put meat back in the pot for another 2 hrs adding the juice back with 4 T liquid smoke. My husband said it was the BEST he's ever tasted and wants me to make it again so he can serve it to his poker buddies. Easy breezy and SO uber delish because of the twang & zip! This is my go to pulled pork recipe from here on out. UPDATE: It's Feb 7, 2012 and I'm STILL making this recipe. Had a Super Bowl party just last weekend and this is STILL a winner! Thanks, Robert, for sharing it. XOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States