Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Delicious! If you are cooking this in a show cooker, I recommend potting a little less spices on the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I used a 3.5 lb. butt roast and put it in the crockpot since I don't have a smoker. I turned it over in the liquids every couple hours. It was done at 8 hours on low. It pulled right off the bone and shredded easily. I drained off the fat from the liquids and added the shredded meat back in to simmer 30 minutes more. I added a couple teaspoons liquid smoke and a couple tablespoons Pampered Chef Smoky barbecue rub then. It is soooo yummy! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I went the slow cooker route. It left my whole apartment smelling like vinegar instead of smoke, but it was super moist and tender. Flavor wise it was pretty good with a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Do not kid yourself the sauce is HOTTTT. I like to mix it with some memphis style store bough BBQ sauce and eat it on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
the best boston butt that I have ever had and will never cook one another way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpitts96

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Yummy - need to start on this earlier. The juice was wonderful spooned over the meat on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
No butter. No water. 2X the rest. Cooked an 11 lb butt in the crock pot on low for 12 hours. Drained it reserving 5 cups of juice. Stripped the fat and bones & pulled the meat apart. Put meat back in the pot for another 2 hrs adding the juice back with 4 T liquid smoke. My husband said it was the BEST he's ever tasted and wants me to make it again so he can serve it to his poker buddies. Easy breezy and SO uber delish because of the twang & zip! This is my go to pulled pork recipe from here on out. UPDATE: It's Feb 7, 2012 and I'm STILL making this recipe. Had a Super Bowl party just last weekend and this is STILL a winner! Thanks, Robert, for sharing it. XOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
OMG! This is awesome! It makes a ton and is great to make ahead and freeze. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I am new at smoking meat so this was my first experience smoking a pork butt but as an Alabama resident, it is not my first time eating BBQ. It was awesome!!! It was a little tiring to baste the meat every hour but it was so worth it! I smoked my 9lb pork butt overnight @ 225 using Mesquite wood chips (11 hours). I basted and added new chips every hour or so. After 11 hours I took the pork out of the smoker and placed it in layers of tin foil and poured the 1c sauce over it, as recommended, and then covered it tightly. I then cooked it for an additional 4 hours without rebasting. Removed from smoker and let it cool for 30min before shredding the meat. I put the shredded meat it in the crockpot and added the additional 1c sauce and mixed. It was absolutely fantastic!!! Can't wait to make it again. Even my picky kids loved it and they never like anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States